Medley Day success in Timahoe

Evan Farrell, Peter Daly and Fionn O'Connor having fun at Timahoe Medley Day.

Evan Farrell, Peter Daly and Fionn O'Connor having fun at Timahoe Medley Day.

THE annual Medley Day took place on Sunday, July 8 in the village of Timahoe, under the historic setting of the Round Tower.

Despite the wet conditions a lot of people turned out and supported the event, which is nearly 60 years old. The ancient village green was peppered with boys and girls enjoying themselves on bouncey castles, milking the cow, the detonator, face painting, sponge throwing and penalties. The adults were to be seen at stalls such as the traditional bottle stall, penny on the sqaure, and all the men were over at Pat Duff’s stall trying to guess the make of the crushed car (a Subaru Justy and no one guessed). The bottle stall was packed with everything from a bar of soap to a bottle of wine, where Elenor Carroll and Breda McEvoy were in charge. Billy Delaney braved the elements and stook out his face at the sponge throwing stand. There was racing for boys and girls of all ages and great excitment was had. John Keightley had his minature pony down and was given guided tours of the green to the boys and girls. There was stack of loose hay in the corner of the green with a key in it, the key opened a safe with a cash prize in it for the winner. Dozens of childern were seen flinging hay up in the air and pulling it a part desperately looking for the key. Conor Fitzpatrick was the lucky boy on the day and found the key.

The committee from the local Timahoe Playground group were present and informed the public of the plans for the playground. €10,000 has been rasied locally and €50,000 sourced in grant aid, and a site secured for the project. It is hoped that works will begin in september. The day ran into the night and music from Abbeyfolk followed by DJ John Lowry wrapped off a great day in Timahoe. Thanks goes to Pat Duff, Breda Mc Evoy, Elenor Carroll, Billy Delaney, Caroline O’Toole, Lauren Mc Donald, Sarah Culleton, James Fiztpatrick, John Lowry, Aidan O’Connor, John Keightley, Bill Fisher, Michael Carroll, Miguel O’Connor, Eugene Headen, and Roghan Headen.


Back to the top of the page