Laois Macra celebrate in style

LAOIS Macra had a fantastic night recently when they held their annual awards night in conjunction with Camross Macra's annual barbeque in the Camross Inn.

Competition winners from throughout the year were presented with their prizes on the night by new County Chair Julianne Walshe. Special recognition was given to those who went on from the county to win national titles during the year.

Kieran McEvoy was deservedly named Laois Macra County Person of the Year after his productive term as county chairperson. Camross Macra were awarded the Eoin Doran Perpetual Shield, following a tight contest between themselves and Portlaoise Macra for the title.

This is a new venture introduced to encourage club participation in competitions at county level. The trophy was presented to Camross Macra on the night by Tadhg Doran. National President, and Laois Macra member, Michael Gowing was also presented with a piece of Waterford Crystal to mark his election to the most prestigious position within the organisation.

Many thanks were expressed on the night to clubs, to Camross Macra for the hosting of the event and to Julianne Walshe (Competitions Chair) and Paddy Delaney (Competitions Secretary) in particular for all their efforts in organising all competitions within the county over the past two years.


Back to the top of the page