Arles-Killeen storm home to seal win

Despite going in level at the interval, Arles-Killeen’s 3-7 in the closing half was enough to see them come away with a comprehensive twelve point victory over the home side, Crettyard, on Thursday last.

ACFL Division 1

Arles Killeen 3-11

Crettyard 0-8


Arles-Killeen opened the scoring after just a minute with Conor Keightley finding his range early on to push his side into the lead.

Crettyard found their rhythm shortly after as Cormac Murphy slotted his first of the day, before going on to double his tally two minutes later to see Crettyard take the lead for the first, and last time in the game.

Arles-Killeen pressed ahead with Brendan O’Shea leveling the proceedings, before a thirteen minute drought was ended with a Donie Brennan free to see Killeen re-take the lead.

Cormac Murphy and Billy O’Loughlin traded points before the interval, but Philip Brennan still found time to tie the game in the second minute of injury-time to send the sides in level at four points apiece.

Even with no wind advantage for either side mentionable, the second half proved to be much less of a contest as Arles-Killeen dominated the play for the duration of the half. Donie Brennan helped himself to 2-2 in the second half, with the first of his goals coming from the penalty spot, while Brennan turned playmaker for Killeen’s third goal as he supplied Sean O’Shea with the final pass.

Billy O’Loughlin (2), John Mahon and Conor Keightley all raised the white flag for Killeen in the final thirty minutes, while at the other end of the field Cormac Murphy’s three pointed frees and substitute Michael Nash’s late point kept the Crettyard side of the scoreboard ticking over as Arles-Killeen ran out comfortable victors

SCORERS - Arles-Killeen: Donie Brennan 2-3 (1-0 pen, 0-2 frees), Sean O’Shea 1-1, Billy O’Loughlin 0-3 (0-1 free), Conor Keightley 0-2, Brendan O’Shea and John Mahon 0-1 each. Crettyard: Cormac Murphy 0-6 (0-4 free), Philip Brennan and Michael Nash 0-1 each.

ARLES-KILLEEN: Mick Leigh; James Mahon, Paul McDonald, Niall O’Rourke; Enda O’Rourke, Shane Julian, Dermot Julian; John Mahon, Eamon Mahon; Sean O’Shea, Donie Brennan, Brendan O’Shea; Conor Keightley, Brian McDonald, Billy O’Loughlin. SUBS: Ricky Dunne for John Mahon; Alan Ryan for Conor Keightley; Tadhg Holden for Sean Brennan; Enda McDonald for Enda O’Rourke.

CRETTYARD: Darren Kelly; Michael Jordan, Jimmy Brennan, James Kelly; Conor Barry, Cormac Phelan, Ivan Fennell; John Graham, Cormac Murphy; Aaron Murphy, Cristoir Maher, Mark Lyons; Philip Brennan, Kieran Hosey, Eoin O’Shea. SUBS: Dominic Buggy for Ivan Fennell; Michael Nash for Cormac Murphy; John Pa Murphy for Philip Brennan; Paul Delaney for Kieran Hosey.




Back to the top of the page