Camross leave it late to seal victory

Two late points from Camross proved crucial in this ACHL Division 1 final, as they claimed a two point win over Castletown-Slieve Bloom last Thursday night.

ACHL Division 1 Play Off

Camross 1-18

Castletown Slieve Bloom 0-19


This was always going to be a keenly contested game between these two local rivals, and so it proved to be. With Camross beginning the defence of their title this weekend, they will have been happy to grind out the win here.

They began well in this game toom, as Dean Delaney split the posts in the opening minute to set them on their way. Castletown responded eith points from Ben Conroy and Paul Cuddy, but Dwane Palmer rattled the back of the net soon after for Camross.

Undaunted, Castletown-Slieve Bloom hit four points on the trot to take the lead, but that was as good as it got for them in the first half. Camross caught fire after that, and a run of nine points without reply left them in a very healthy position at half time, as they lead 1-13 to 0-8

When Ciaran Collier extened that lead even further moments after the restart, all looked lost for Castletown-Slieve Bloom.

They weren’t about to lie down though, especially not to Camross, and points from Fionan Cuddy, Ben Conroy and Paul Cuddy got them back in the groove,as they trailed by three with 15 minutes to go.

Darren Gilmartin offered Camross brief respite, but Castletown-Slieve Bloom were on a charge, and points from Ben Conroy, Conor Phelan and Fionan Cuddy had them level with time almost up.

The game was there to be won now, and it was Camross who took the chance, as substitute Kevin Lalor came up with a big score, and Darren Gilmartin added one more for good measure to seal their place in the semi-final.

SCORERS – Camross: Darren Gilmartin 0-8, Gearoid Burke 0-4, Dwane Palmer 1-0, Dean Delaney 0-2, Damien Keenan, Ciaran Collier, Andrew Mortimer, Kevin Lalor 0-1 each. Castletown-Slieve Bloom: Ben Conroy 0-10, Fionan Cuddy 0-3, Paul Cuddy, Gearoid Gaughan 0-2 each, James Hooban, Conor Phelan 0-1 each.

CAMROSS: Jim Delaney; Michael Phelan, Malvin Moloney, Craig Delaney; Martin Burke, Gearoid Burke, Damien Keenan; Dean Delaney, Andrew Collier; Ciaran Collier, Tomas Burke, Darren Gilmartin; Joe Phelan, Dwane Palmer, Andrew Mortimer. Subs: Kevin Lalor for J Phelan (44 mins), James Palmer for Mortimer (53 mins).

CASTLETOWN-SLIEVE BLOOM: Pat Mullaney; Evin Cuddy, Declan Keenan; Enda Conroy; Gearoid Gaughan, Conor Phelan, Kevin Conroy; Fionan Cuddy, Brian Ferns; Ryan Mullaney, Paul Cuddy, John Gaughan; James Hooban, Ben Conroy, Ben Reddin. Sub: Dylan Conroy for J Gaughan (45 mins)

Referee: Pat Moran (Graiguecullen)




Back to the top of the page