Clonaslee beaten by 14 man Colt

Colt saw off the challenge of Clonaslee to book their place in the semi-finals of the Laois SHC ‘B’ with a superb team display in O’Moore Park on Sunday.

Laois SHC ‘B’ Round 2

Colt/St Fintan’s 1-15

Clonaslee/St Manman’s 0-12


Clonaslee, with wind advantage, got off to a great start with three points in the opening four minutes, with Glen McEvoy, Ciaran Hyland and James Young (free) all on target.

Colt were taking their time to settle, but a sloppy clearance from the Clonaslee defence allowed Niall Brennan to line up a shot from the left wing, and he made no mistake. Two minutes later, however, Colt were reduced to 14 men.

It was Dan Dalton who was given his marching orders, sent to the line for lashing out at Glen McEvoy, with the Clonaslee man given a yellow card for his part in the incident.

The dismissal seemed to fire up Colt, and Colm Kavanagh pointed moments later to get them within one, and they were on level terms by the 18th minute.

Clonaslee looked to have wrestled back control of the game after that, as a couple of James Young frees and a nice effort from play by Tommy Tynan had them three in front again. They couldn’t keep it up, however, as Colt would take the lead by half time.

Chris Murray raced through to fire to the net and gearoid Parkinson and Brian McDermott pointed to leave it 1-6 to 0-7 at the break.

Colt just kept powering on from there too, as they got on top all over the field, and with Chris Murray in sparkling form in attack, Clonaslee just had no answer to them, with Murray finishing the game with a perfonal tally of 1-7.

SCORERS - Colt:Chris Murray 1-7 (0-3 frees, 0-1 65), Brian McDermott, Niall brennan 0-2 each, Colm Kavanagh, Henry Keyes, Mark McDonald, Gearoid Parkinson 0-1 each.

Clonaslee: James Young 0-7 (0-4 frees, 0-1 65, 0-1 penalty), Tommy Tynan 0-2, PJ Fitzpatrick, Glen McEvoy, Ciaran Hyland 0-1 each

COLT: Steven Sinnott; Tony Ryan, Ger Doolin, Shane Mullins; Colin Ryan, Mark McDonald, Arron McGowan; Niall Brennan, Colm Kavanagh; Dan Dalton, Gearoid Parkinson, Henry Keyes; Padraig Dunne, Brian McDermott, Chris Murray. Subs:Brian Keegan for Keyes (56 mins), Eoin Joyce for Dunne (59 mins)

CLONASLEE: Martin Fallon; Jonathon Carroll, Conor Hyland, Mark McEvoy; Shane Conroy, Willie Young, Willie Murray; Glen McEvoy, Dermot Conroy; James Young, Darren Hogan, Ciaran Hyland; PJ Fitzpatrick, John Rowney, Tommy Tynan. Subs: Michael Hyland for Rowney (26 mins), Paudge Cleere for C Hyland (34 mins), Ger Dunne for W Young (56 mins, injured)

Referee: Michael Ward (Borris-Kilcotton)




Back to the top of the page