Graiguecullen earn draw at the death

Having led by four points at the interval, Park-Ratheniska could only manage a solitary point in the second half as Graiguecullen snatched an injury-time leveller from Shane Aylward to split the points in Stradbally on Thursday last.

Laois IFC Round 3

Graiguecullen 0-9

Park Ratheniska 0-9


Park-Ratheniska claimed the opening two points of the game, in the opening two minutes, through Mark Delaney and Sean Tynan to set the scoring in motion. Graiguecullen opened their account shortly after with Dale Byrne slotting a free to leave a point between the sides.

Park-Ratheniska went on to to fire a further five points in the fifteen minutes thereafter, while Graigue could only manage two. Stephen Knowles (2), Darragh Nolan and Kieran Delaney all got on the scoresheet, as did John Sugrue before he was given a black card ten minutes in. Points from Jamie Moran and Daley Byrne kept Graigue in touch as they trailed by four.

Darragh Doran and Kieran Delaney exchanged scores right before the interval to see Park-Ratheniska lead by eight points to four at half time.

The second half proved to be a low scoring affair as Graiguecullen held Park to just one point in the entire second half, while going on to land five themselves to level the game. Points from Shane Aylward, Jamie Moran and Jamie Malone brought Graigue to within a point, before Kieran Delaney scored Park’s only point of the half to extend their lead to two points.

Jamie Moran pointed a free thirteen minutes from time to set up a tense finish - paving the way for Shane Aylward’s sixty-first minute injury-time leveller to see the teams split the points.

SCORERS - Park-Ratheniska: Kieran Delaney 0-4 (0-3 frees), Stephen Knowles 0-2, Sean Tynan, John Sugrue and Darragh Nolan 0-1 each. Graiguecullen: Jamie Moran 0-3 (0-1 free), Dale Byrne (frees) and Shane Aylward 0-2 each; Darragh Doran and Jamie Malone 0-1 each.

PARK-RATHENISKA: Brian Kelly; David Larkin, Mark Delaney, Paul Brennan; Benny Greene, Denis Brennan, James Langton; Brendan Conroy, John Sugrue; Brendan Fingleton, Denis Cahill, Sean Tynan; Stephen Knowles, Kieran Delaney, Darragh Nolan. SUBS: Murt Kelly for John Sugrue (BC); Oisin Nolan for Sean Tynan; Paddy Kelly for Darragh Nolan; DJ O’Connell for Stephen Knowles.

GRAIGUECULLEN: Peter Brannigan; Michael Loughman, Shane Aylward, Liam Byrne; Jamie Malone, Darragh Doran, Luke Alsybury; Patrick Murphy, Barry Murphy; Barry Regan, Dale Byrne, James Brennan; Shane Condron, Jamie Moran, Michael Lawlor. SUBS: Ethan O’Neill for Michael Lawlor.




Back to the top of the page