Íosagáin make hard work of Carnew

Coláiste Íosagáin senior footballers were made to battle all the way for this win, as they eventually saw off a stubborn Carnew side thanks to a flurry of late scores.

The Port school were trailing for most of the second half, only taking the lead with a minute of normal time to go, but they had enough in the tank to win by three points.

It was a poor game overall, with Carnew taking an early lead thanks to two points from their impressive midfielder Niall Hughes. Íosagáin wouldn’t get their first score until the 15th minute, with Jack Walsh scoring a fine individual goal.

Jake Foster and Jason Ward (free) added a point apiece soon after, before Hughes pointed once again for Carnew. Both teams managed one more point before the half-time whistle sounded, and that left the score reading 1-3 to 0-4 in favour of Íosagáin.

The start of the second half belonged to Carnew, as Niall Hughes set Roan Lynch up for a well-taken goal, before he then pointed a free. Enda Donohue added another for the visitors to put them three ahead, before a good run from Íosagáin saw them draw level.

Carnew eventually pulled three ahead again, but the Port school reserved their best football for the closing stages. They hit six points without reply, as Matthew Finlay came to the fore and they finally broke even at midfield to record a hard-earned three point win.

SCORERS - Coláiste Íosagáin: Jack Walsh 1-2, Matthew Finlay 0-4 (0-1 free), Jason Ward 0-3 (0-2 frees), Jake Foster 0-2, Keith Kavanagh, Colm Murphy 0-1 each; Coláiste Bhríde Carnew: Niall Hughes 0-5 (0-3 frees), Roan Lynch 1-0, Brendan Behan, John Fleming 0-2 each, Enda Donohue 0-1

COLÁISTE ÍOSAGÁIN: Ross McGrath (Portarlington); Stephen Chambers (Portarlington), Ryan Havill (Gracefield), Diarmuid Bennett (Portarlington); Cormac O’Hora (O’Dempsey’s), Graham Weldon (Portarlington), Gavin Smith (Gracefield); Eoin McCann (Portarlington), Paddy O’Sullivan (Portarlington); Keith Kavanagh (O’Dempsey’s), Jack Walsh (Gracefield), Colm Murphy (Portarlington); Jake Foster (Portarlington), Jason Ward (Portarlington), Matthew Finlay (O’Dempsey’s). Subs: Joe Hurley (Gracefield) for O’Hora (22 mins - black card), John Cahill (O’Dempsey’s) for Ward (49 mins)

SCOIL BHRÍDE CARNEW: Bob Fitzpatrick; Cathal Byrne, Tom Byrne, Andy Hughes; Joe Gardiner, Conor Lambert, Ger Lyons; Niall Hughes, Wayne Kinsella; Brendan Behan, Enda Donohue, Roan Lynch; John Fleming, Keith Farrell, Alan Dillon. Subs: Dean Barnes for Dillon (42 mins - black card)




Back to the top of the page