Kavanagh in line to succeed Allen as next Chairman

Stradbally’s Gerry Kavanagh is expected to succeed Brian Allen as Chairman of Laois GAA tonight (Tuesday), after Dick Miller dropped out of the race.

Miller had been nominated by his club, Timahoe, but after lengthy consideration it is believed he will not now put his name forward for the position. With the two other people nominated, Kieran Delaney (Camross) and Martin Byrne (Arles-Killeen) not expected to contest the position, it will give Kavanagh (right) a free run to the highest position in Laois.

It will also see the Stradbally club hold the position of Chairman and Secretary of the county board at the same time.

That will leave the role of Vice-Chairman up for election, with that expected to be one of the few keenly contested elections on the night. Peter O’Neill (Portlaoise) and Kieran Delaney will go head to head, while Clough-Ballacolla’s Danny Hanlon and Portarlington’s Kieran Leavy are also nominated.

Outgoing Chairman Brian Allen has been nominated for seven different positions on the night, but it remains to be seen which he actually goes for. His name is in the hat for Assistant Treasurer, a role left vacant since Phil Duggan stepped down during the year. However, Timahoe’s Paschal McEvoy is widely expected to step into that particular hot-seat having served his five year term as PRO.

With the role of PRO up for grabs, Colt’s Leo Kavanagh is believed to be the front runner for the post after Ballylinan’s Tomas Moore dropped out of the reckoning. Brian Allen is also nominated, as is Sean Byrne from Arles-Killeen, who would appear to be Kavanagh’s biggest rival.

One job Brian Allen is expected to run for is Leinster Council Delegate, which would make for an interesting election on the night. The current delegates are Michael Carroll (Abbeyleix) and Kieran Leavy (Portarlington). Carroll is a long-serving member of the executive, having acted in various roles over the years, so he will be expected to maintain a strong support, which could leave Allen and Leavy to go head-to-head for the other seat.

Allen may also opt to run for the job as Central Council Delegate, where he would be up against Shanahoe’s Anthony Delaney.

Elsewhere, Pat O’Sullivan, the current Cultural and Irish Officer could make the step up to Coaching Officer, if Peter O’Neill wins the race for Vice-Chairman. If he does, that will clear the way for Jody Conway (Clonaslee St Manman’s) to succeed him.

The U-21 Congress Delegate will be Dean Cullen from Portlaoise. Convention gets underway at 7pm tonight.




Back to the top of the page