Laois to shine at RCTLC awards

Garrett Culliton will be one of the Laois winners at the RCTLC awards this Friday night

Garrett Culliton will be one of the Laois winners at the RCTLC awards this Friday night

The Roscrea Community, Tourism & Leisure Co-Operative Society (RCTLC) have announced their sporting heroes for 2012, and among the cut are Laois’ own Garrett Culliton, Mary Mulhare, PJ Scully and St. Fergal’s, Rathdowney.

On Friday, 15th of February, Roscrea and the wider community will come together to recognise the sporting achievements of those from the area who have reached their highest echelons in their chosen sport. The titles on offer varied from The Hall of Fame to individual sports awards. Rosderra Meats, who have sponsored the event for the past few years, are again the major sponsors of the annual awards ceremony.

Laois are well represented in the winners circle with no less than four awards coming back to the O’Moore County. Paralympic veteran Garrett Culliton who has competed in four Paralympic Games, from Athlanta through to Beijing, in five different events, is set to be awarded the Paralympic Sport award next Friday.

Borris-in-Osorry/Kilcotton’s PJ Scully has been awarded the Youth Award for his hugely impressive collection of sporting achievements. He has won every juvenile honour in Laois from 12-16 age group. He has won 4 minor championships, completing 4 in a row 2009, 2010, and 2011 and also captained his side in 2012. PJ played 3 years minor hurling with Laois and has progressed to senior panel this year.Mary Mulhare will add the RCTLC Athletics Award to her ever-growing list of honours when she collects her award in the Racket Hall Country House Hotel next Friday. Among her sporting achievements are 17 International caps, 11 All Ireland Golds, (5 Cross Country, 6 Track), 20 Leinster Golds across track and cross country.

Finally, St Fergal’s, Rathdowney, are in-line to collect the Special Recognition Award as they celebrated their seventy-fifth birthday in 2012, although the award is intended to commemorate the school’s countless sporting achievements over that period. The first major success experienced by the school was winning the Leinster and All Ireland Junior Hurling Championships in the inaugural year of the competition 1982. Noel Delaney from The Harps captained the school to win this competition again in 1985, and in the years since the school has continued to add to their trophy case.

The Awards Presentation will take place in Racket Hall Country House Hotel on Friday, February 15th.




Back to the top of the page