Mountmellick’s quality drama

Preparations are underway for what is sure to be another great year of dramatics in Mountmellick.

The annual Mountmellick Drama Festival runs from Friday, March 7 to Friday, March 14 in the Mountmellick Community Arts Centre.

It is the 24th year of the festival and this year the programme includes a wide variety of productions by amateur drama groups from all around the country.

What ensures a high standard at the festival is that the event is a qualifying festival for the All-Ireland open finals held in Athlone each year and for the All-Ireland confined drama finals which rotates around the provinces each year. Only the best make it to these finals.

This year’s programme includes:

Friday, March 7: ‘The Kings of Kilburn High Road’ by Jimmy Murphy presented by Moyne Drama Group from Tipperary.

Saturday, March 8: ‘The Devil’s Ceili’ by Philip Doherty and Kevin McGahern presented by Corn Mill Theatre Group from Leitrim.

Sunday, March 9: ‘Curse of the Starving Class’ by Sam Shepard presented by Ballyduff Drama Group from Waterford.

Monday, March 10: ‘April Bright’ by Dermot Bolger presented by Bunclody/ Kilmyshall Drama Group from Wexford.

Tuesday, March 11: ‘Dead Guilty’ by Richard Harris presented by Holycross/Ballycahill Drama Group from Tipperary.

Wednesday, March 12: ‘The Weir’ by Conor McPherson presented by Kilmuckridge Drama Group from Wexford.

Thursday, March 13: ‘A View from the Bridge’ by Arthur Miller presented by Thurles Drama Group from Tipperary.

Friday, March 14: ‘Moll’ by John B. Keane presented by Garrymore Drama Group from Mayo.

In these tough times the festival represents great value for money. Season tickets (8 nights) €50 (concessions €25) while nightly tickets are €10 (concessions €5).

Curtain goes up each night at 8pm (sharp).

Winners will be announced on Friday March 14 following the final performance.

Group bookings available – for further details and bookings contact Tricia on 086 1604363 or email

The main sponsor is Mountmellick Credit Union.




Back to the top of the page