GIRLS DIVISION 1 - Cullohill NS retain title against battling Castletown NS side

Cullohill proved too strong for Castletown in this Division 1 final last Thursday afternoon at O'Moore Park.

Cullohill NS 8-3

Castletown NS 1-1

Cullohill got off to the perfect start, as their dangerous attacker Aoife Kirby got in behind the Castletown defence for the opening goal.

A couple of minutes later Kirby was repeating the trick, as she got her second goal of the game from close range. Castletown were battling hard to get back into the game, but the Cullohill girls were playing well at this stage.

Lisa Kirby added a point for Cullohill, and she then got her team's third goal when her long-range free found the net. Rachel Dollard got the fourth Cullohill goal after racing through, and another Lisa Kirby point left her side fourteen up at the break, with Castletown working just as hard but find it hard to break down the Cullohill defence.

The game continued in a similar pattern in the second half, although Castletown were creating good chances, but Mia Henderson made a couple of top class saves to deny them.

Cullohill then registered two more goals, from Rachel Dollard and Lisa Kirby, to stretch their lead out even further, but Castletown were not throwing in the towel, and Caoimhe Delaney nabbed a point from a free.

Rachel Dollard replied with a couple of goals for Cullohill as they all but secured the win, but Castletown kept trying right to the end, and were rewarded with a late goal from Caoimhe Delaney.


Scorers: Lisa Kirby 2-3 (1-1 frees), Rachel Dollard 4-0, Aoife Kirby 2-0, Éadaoin Whyte 0-1.

Team: Mia Henderson; Kayla Dwyer, Eva Dunphy, Caoimhe Doheny; Orla Holland, Lisa Kirby; Catherine Kirby, Rachel Dollard, Aoife Kirby. Subs: Éadaoin Whyte, Georgie Holland, Orla Brophy


Scorers: Caoimhe Cuddy 1-1 (frees)

Team: Sarah Dunne; Gabrielle Cuddy, Shannon Conroy, Aimee Byrne; Molly Kerry, Emma Jane Cuddy; Sarah Phelan, Caoimhe Cuddy, Aoife Cuddy. Subs: Doireann O'Connor, Méibh Peters, Annaliz Cash, Meadhbh Doyle, Ella Sheridan

Referee: Brochan Reilly (Portlaoise)

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.