PICTURES - Laois minors edged out by Dublin in Leinster MFC final in 2003

While 2003 represents the last time Laois won a Leinster SFC title, that provincial final day was one of mixed emotions for the county's minor team.

Having played in the curtain-raiser that day, they were edged out by Dublin in Croke Park by just two points - 1-11 to 1-9 - with a handful of the current senior team lining out on the day. Mark Timmons, Colm Begley and Niall Donoher were all involved on the day, with Brendan Quigley, who has been kept sidelined by injury this year, also playing.

While the Leinster final brought disappointment for Sean Dempsey's charges, Laois would claim the ultimate revenge by beating Dublin in the All-Ireland final, after a replay, in Dr Cullen Park.

The Laois panel, as it appears in the team photo above is as follows;

Back row, from left: Mark Timmons, Peter O'Leary, David Murphy, Colm Begley, Brendan Quigley, Barry Fitzgerald, Ian Fleming, Cathal Ryan, Colm Kelly, Sean Brennan (RIP), Danny O'Shea, Eoin Culleton.

Front row, from left: Brian Mortimer, Cahir Healy, Colm Kelly, Rory Stapleton, Niall Donoher, Peter McNulty (RIP), Conor Gorman, Craig Rogers (capt), Donie Brennan, Cathal Fleming, Chris Bergin, MJ Tierney.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.