01 Dec 2021

Green schools in Laois honoured for achievements by Government Minister

Schools from Laois were among 58 schools from around the country to be awarded the prestigious Green Flag from An Taisce for their work on the Green-Schools programme at the ceremonies recenlty.

Now in its 21st year in Ireland, the Green-Schools programme will award 968 schools across Ireland this month during 17 ceremonies in eight locations.

Denis Naughten, Minister for Communications, Climate Action and Environment, was present at the event at the Hudson Bay Hotel, Athlone where the 'green' work of schools was honoured.

Gerard O'Loughlin took photographs at the event.

The following were the categories and winners in Laois.


Castletown Primary School Elderfield Castletown Mountrath 1st Renewal

Maryborough N.S Summerhill The Downs Portlaoise 1st Renewal

Paddock N.S Paddock Mountrath 1st Renewal

Saplings Special School Church Road Graiguecullen Carlow 1st Renewal


Ratheniska Primary School Ratheniska Portlaoise 2nd Renewal

Rehabcare Resource Centre 22 Lower Main Street Portlaoise 2nd Renewal

The Swan National School The Swan via Athy 2nd Renewal


St. Mary's C.B.S Tower Hill Borris road Portlaoise 3rd Renewal


Abbeyleix South National School Ballacolla rd Abbeyleix 4th Renewal

St. Colmcille's N.S Errill Portlaoise Rathdowney 4th Renewal

Tobar an Léinn N.S Raheen Mountrath 4th Renewal

GC Litter and Waste

Derrylamougue N.S Derrylamogue Rosenallis 5th Renewal

Gaelscoil Phortlaoise Cnoc an tSamhraidh Bóthar an tSráid Bhaile Portlaoise 5th Renewal

Scoil Bhride N.S Stillbrook Mountrath 5th Renewal

St Joseph's N.S Borris-In-Ossary 5th Renewal

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.