09 Dec 2021

New grant gives creativity a boost in Laois schools

Laois Offaly based Green Party Minister welcomes the support

pippa hackett

Creative pupils

Two Laois Schools have been designated Creative Schools while four others have become part of a Creative Cluster.

Each participating Creative School being awarded a grant of €3,100, while each Creative Cluster will receive an additional €1,000 per school for 2020 according to Minister of State and Laois Offaly based senator Pippa Hackett.

The two new schools added to the Creative Schools Programme are:

Newtown National School, Doonane, Crettyard, Co. Laois
Scoil Phadraig Naofa B.N.S., Davitt Road, Mountmellick, Co. Laois

The Creative Cluster schools are:

Holy Family Senior School, Portlaoise
Holy Family Junior School, Portlaoise
St Colman’s National School, Stradbally,
Scoil Bhríde, Portlaoise

The funding for creativity in Laois schools was revealed and welcomed by Minister Hackett.

“These six schools will now receive funding to support their arts, culture and creativity,” said Minister Hackett. “It will give their pupils a richer learning experience, nurturing their creativity and helping them to develop their talents. Creativity is hugely important to the wellbeing our young people.

“My colleague, Culture Minister Catherine Martin has announced that 164 new schools nationwide have joined the Creative Schools Programme this September, while 72 schools will join the Schools Excellence Fund – Creative Clusters,” says Minister Hackett.

The total investment nationally in the Creative Schools scheme this year will be €3.6 million.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.