12 Aug 2022

Election 2020: Votes shift from Fianna Fáil to Sinn Féin in a rural Laois tally

Election 2020: Votes shift from Fianna Fáil to Sinn Féin in rural north Laois tally

Tallies as counting underway in the Laois Offaly constituency count centre in Portlaoise. Pic: Lynda Kiernan

A dramatic shift in voter preference from Fianna Fail to Sinn Fein is evident in a tally from a Slieve Bloom area. 
The tally from the Lacca Paddock station shows Fianna Fail TD Sean Fleming with 64 first preference votes,  nearly halved from his 123 votes in 2016. 
Sinn Fein TD Brian Stanley got 95, almost twice the 47 he got in the last election. 
a fine Gael Minister Charlie Flanagan fell slightly, from 78  in 2016 to 61 this time round.

The tally is only an indicator as vote counting gets underway in the Laois Offaly Constituency count centre in Portlaoise.

Out of 499 registered to vote in the area, 280 cast their vote.

The area includes Aghamore, Bockagh, Bordwin, Briscula, Brisha, Bughorn, Deerpark, Derrycon, Drim, Drimmo, Inchanisky, Killinure, Lacka, Monicknew, Mountainfarm, Paddock, Rossadown, Rossalee, Roundwood, Sconce Upper, Shanvour and Whitefield.



To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.