02 Oct 2022

RESULTS: Eighth count results announced in Laois-Offaly

RESULTS: Eighth count results announced in Laois-Offaly

RESULTS: Eighth count results announced in Laois-Offaly

The results of the eighth count in Laois-Offaly have been announced in Portlaoise.

The count distributed the transfers of the eliminated Peter Ormond of Fianna Fail.


VALID POLL: 69,422

QUOTA: 11,571

* = Seventh Count Votes

Brian Stanley 16,654* ELECTED (First Count)

Barry Cowen *9,698 (+2,464) TOTAL 12,162

Sean Fleming *9,835 (+492) TOTAL 10,327

Carol Nolan *8,353 (+495) TOTAL 8,848

Charlie Flanagan *8,287 (+109) TOTAL 8,396

Pippa Hackett *5,811 (+130) TOTAL 5,941

Marcella Corcoran Kennedy *4,917 (+240) TOTAL 5,157

John Leahy *4,821 (+351) TOTAL 5,172

Peter Ormond *4,449 (ELIMINATED ON COUNT 7)

Ken Smollen *3,941 (ELIMINATED ON THIS COUNT 6)

Noel Tuohey *3,190 (ELIMINATED ON COUNT 5)

Pauline Flanagan *1,875 - ELIMINATED COUNT 3

Stephen Tynan *2,273 ELIMINATED COUNT 4

John Daly *557 - ELIMINATED COUNT 2

Noel O'Rourke *356 ELIMINATED COUNT 2

Barry Cowen exceeded the quota and was elected on this count. His surplus of 591 will now be distributed on the ninth count.

Stay up to date with all the updates from the Laois-Offaly count centre HERE ON OUR LIVE BLOG. 

To continue reading this article,
please subscribe and support local journalism!

Subscribing will allow you access to all of our premium content and archived articles.


To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.