24 Jan 2022

Portlaoise ploughs on

History was made last weekend when the first Portlaoise and District ploughing match took place last Saturday, February 18 in Ratheniska on the land of brothers, Cathal and James Greene.

History was made last weekend when the first Portlaoise and District ploughing match took place last Saturday, February 18 in Ratheniska on the land of brothers, Cathal and James Greene.

At the beginning of January 2012 the formation of the new committee took place. On the night of the formation of the club an enthusiasm filled the room due to the number of people their both young and old alike. The committee members from the county of Laois, that attended, were overwhelmed by the interest in Competition Ploughing in Portlaoise and surrounding areas.

The committee elected on the night was as follows; President: Tom Fingleton, Chairman: James Greene, Vice Chairman: Adrian Dunne, Treasurer: John Larkin, Secretary: Majella French O’Connor, PRO Brendan Greene, and up to 30members attended.

Last Saturday the committee hosted their first match. John Tracey from Carlow who represented Ireland on numerous occasions ploughed on the day along with ploughmen from Kilkenny, Offaly, Kildare, Westmeath and Tipperary to name a few expected to attend, up to 60 competitors are expected. The Ratheniska site ensured an enjoyable day for both ploughmen and spectators alike.

Results were announced in the local hall in Ratheniska, where a dinner was also provided and a list of our kind sponsors was on show. Chairman Jim Greene thanked these sponsors and all in the hall afterwards that made the day a huge success including the Offaly and Tipp judges, the committee, and all the ploughmen for coming. The committee also would like to extend its gratitude to the Managing Director Anna May McHugh for attending the Inaugural Match.

The Laois Ploughing Dinner dance will take place on the 16th of March 2012 in the Heritage Hotel Portlaoise. Tickets are available from committee members of Portlaoise & District Ploughing or any County member. For more information contact the county secretary John Paul Fenlon on 0877698277.

Results were as follows:

Farmerette; Nicole Hyland (Kildare) 1st with 90 marks

Under 28 Conventional; Ger Mahon (Offaly) 1st - 107; Sean Monaghan (Longford) 2nd - 106; Brendan Greene (Laois) 3rd - 105

Under 21 Conventional; Sean Treacy (Carlow) 1st - 106; Liam Murphy (Tipp) 2nd - 105; Denis Dunne (Kildare) 3rd - 97

Open Senior Conventional; John Treacy (Carlow) 1st - 125; Martin Reilly (Longford) 2nd - 116; John Slattery (Tipperary) 3rd - 100.

Confined Senior Conventional (Laois Championships only); Pat Brandon 1st - 116 marks; Eamon Meade 2nd - 112; Padraig Brandon 3rd - 108

Confined Intermediate Conventional (Laois Championships only); Pat Cooney 1st - 100; DJ McHugh 2nd - 98; JP Fenlon 3rd - 90

3 furrow conventional; Kieran Dunne (Kildare) 1st - 90

Vintage single furrow; Bruno McCormack (Wexford) 1st

Vintage Trailer; Tommy Pierce 1st

Vintage 2furrow mounted; Tommy Cullen 1st; Peter O Connell 2nd; Paddy Boland 3rd

Open Senior Reversible; Brian Mahon (Offaly) 1st - 111; Enda Kelly (Offaly) 2nd - 107; Joe Slattery (North Tipp) 3rd - 106

Confined Senior Reversible (Laois Championships only); Karl Davis 1st - 104; Seamus Duggan 2nd - 94; Patsy Condron 3rd - 88

3 furrow standard Reversible; Rodney Cox (Offaly) 1st - 102; Kieran O Connor (Laois) 2nd - 100; Brian Hennessey (Laois) 3rd - 95

Under 28 Reversible; Tom Cushen 1st (Laois) - 66

Novice; Andrew Kelly 1st (Laois) - 52

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.