GAA awards for Laois men

15 March 2013; Michael Mulhare is presented with his GAA President's Awards for 2013 award by Uachtar�n Chumann L�thchleas Gael Liam " N�ill in the company of Neil Hosty, AIB, left, P�l " Gallch�ir, Ceanna�i TG4, and his brother Joe Mulhare, right. Mick has been one of the most influential members of Stradbally GAC since its foundation. After finishing up his playing career, he became club secretary in 1975 before stepping up to Chairman in 1988. Mick had an instrumental role in the changing of the clubs grounds from Cosby Hall in 93 to Bill Delaney Park and this has been credited with being the main reason for the subsequent three county championship successes for Stradbally in 1997, 1998 and 2005. GAA President's Awards 2013, Croke Park, Dublin. Picture credit: Brian Lawless / SPORTSFILE *** NO REPRODUCTION FEE ***
Three Laois men were honoured last Friday night at the GAA President’s Awards, held in Croke Park.

Three Laois men were honoured last Friday night at the GAA President’s Awards, held in Croke Park.

Michael Mulhare was recognised for his contribution to Stradbally GAA, having served the club for most of his life. He was elected Secretary in 1975 and chairman in 1988, before going on to organise their move from Cosby Hall to the current grounds on the Timahoe road.

A popular figure both in Stradbally and the wider Laois GAA community, he is still actively involved with the club, and often the first face many see when driving in to Bill Delaney Park.

Michael Dowling was also honoured for his contribution to the game of Rounders, having spent 30 years promoting the game on The Heath. A Mountmellick native, he worked as a primary school teacher in The Heath and introduced the game there, where it spread and became a staple in the local community.

Since his intervention, the club have won countless Community Games and GAA All-Ireland titles, while senior players have also won 13 All-Stars in eleven years.

Peter Rice, originall from Laois but living in Wexford, was also given an award for his work in promoting Ladies Football. He is the current national treasurer, and previously served as national President between 1991 and 1994.