28 May 2022

Laois GAA convention nominations and details confirmed

GAA Laois

The final line up of candidates has been confirmed ahead of the Laois GAA County Convention will take place on Monday 4th. December in the Midlands Park Hotel at 7.30pm.

Refreshments will be served at the venue from 7.00pm and Registration will take place at 7.15pm.

Each affiliated Club, which competed in a grade of Championship of the current year (Rule 3.10), is entitled to be represented by 2 Member delegates and their County Board Delegate (who cannot be proxied).

County Convention Booklet and Financial Statement will be circulated Mon 27 November;

The county board says that in relation to County Convention and Elections, Rule 3.11 (e) requires that voting to fill elective positions under Rule 3.11 shall be on the basis of the Proportional Representation system. Delegates to Leinster Convention and Congress will be elected in normal manner.

 Note €130 Tickets will also be available to Clubs at County Convention.

Clubs are reminded that where possible AGMs should be held before the New Year (end of November as per Club Constitution 8.3) and that the end of the Club Financial year shall be 31st. October (Club Constitution 11.11) and accounts returned to County Committee.

The county board also requires affiliations and entries into Championships and Leagues by the first week of January, in order to have proposals on fixture structures and schedule in place for January County Committee Meeting. Please note January County Committee Meeting deals with everything in relation to Fixtures, this is not the remit of County Convention.

CLG Laoise Ainmniúchán (Nominations)

Cathaoirleach (Chairperson): Brian Allen, Kieran Leavy, Sean Mortimer, Peter O’Neill.

Leas Cathaoirleach (Vice Chairperson): Sean Mortimer (Outgoing), Tom Clear, Kieran Leavy, Pat O’Sullivan.

Cisteoir (Treasurer): Martin Byrne (Outgoing).

Leas Cisteoir (Asst. Treasurer): Kieran Leavy (Outgoing).

Ard Comhairle (Central Council Delegate): Brian Allen (Outgoing), Gerry Kavanagh, Kieran Leavy.

Comhairle Laighean (Leinster Council Delegate) (2): Tom Jones & Paschal McEvoy (Both Outgoing).

Oifigeach Forbartha (Development Officer): PJ Kelly (Outgoing).

Oifigeach Oiliúna (Coaching Officer): Fergal Byron, Jody Conway.

Oifigeach Cultir agus Gaeilge (Cultural and Irish Officer): Monica Delaney.

Oifigeach Caidrimh Poiblí (P.R.O.): Tom Clear (Outgoing), Canice McCarthy, Pat O’Sullivan.

Congress Delegates (5): Cathaoirleach agus Runaí automatically attend; Martin Byrne, Tom Clear, Monica Delaney, Tom Jones, Gerry Kavanagh, PJ Kelly, Pat O’Sullivan.

Leinster Convention Delegates (5): Brian Allen, Martin Byrne, Tom Clear, Monica Delaney, Gerry Kavanagh, Peter O’Neill, Pat O’Sullivan.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.