20 Jan 2022

GAA - Ballyroan Abbey finish with a flourish to claim U-15 league glory over St Joseph's

GAA - Ballyroan Abbey finish with a flourish to claim U-15 league glory over St Joseph's

Ballyroan Abbey had too much for St Joseph's on Friday night.

Ballyroan Abbey ran out comfortable winners over St Joseph’s in the U-15 football final, although the scoreline does flatter them somewhat, as St Joseph’s were only two points down at one stage in the second half.

James McWey opened the scoring for Ballyroan Abbey a minute in. Six minutes passed with no score, before Ballyroan Abbey hit a quick-fire 1-1 to take a sizeable early advantage. Full forward Aaron Brennan pointed, before Davin McEvoy scored the game’s first goal.

St Joseph’s first score came ten minutes into the game, with Josh O’Brien converting a free. Aaron Brennn responded with a point, but St Joseph’s were starting to turn the tide. Josh O’Brien placed over a further three points, two nice frees and a wonderful score from play.

However, their hard work became undone when Lawson Obular put pressure on St Joseph’s goalkeeper Bryan Fleming, and the ball ended up in Fleming’s net. O’Brien replied with a free for St Joseph’s, and they went in at half-time four points down.
O’Brien reduced the gap to just three with a free five minutes into the second half, and he followed up with another from play to leave two between the sides.

However, Ballyroan Abbey took control of the game from here on out, firing eight unanswered points to cruise to victory. The scores came from the boots of Aaron Brennan, James McWey (free), Davin McEvoy, Lawson Obular and Conor Gee, with Ballyroan Abbey showcasing their strength all over the field, in contrast to St Joseph’s, who relied solely for scores from Josh O’Brien.

O’Brien mustered a free in reply for St Joseph’s, but Davin McEvoy grabbed his second goal of the game, with a terrific finish into the top corner.

St Joseph’s

Scorers: Josh O’Brien 0-8 (0-6 frees)

Team: Bryan Fleming; Evan Hogg, Eoin Cahill, Joseph Morris; Tomas Byrne, Darragh Brennan, Adam Delaney; Jamie Kelly, James Knowles; Cian Moore, Josh O’Brien, Oisin Hooney; Sean Brennan, Ian Shanahan, Cormac Murphy.

Ballyroan Abbey

Scorers: Davin McEvoy 2-2, Lawson Obular 1-2, Aaron Brennan 0-3, Conor Gee and James McWey (frees) 0-2 each.

Team: Fionn McWey; Adam Mullins, Danny Brennan, Robert Corkish; Fionnan Mahoney, Eamonn Fitzpatrick, Eoghan Dunne; James McWey, Adam Broady ;Aaron Brennan, Lawson Obular, Shaun Fitzpatrick; Davin McEvoy, Aaron Brennan, Conor Gee. Subs: Conor McWey for Mullins (40 mins), Oran Delaney for Gee (57 mins)

Referee: Tomás Moore.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.