28 May 2022

GAA - Peter O'Neill elected new chairman of Laois GAA

GAA - Peter O'Neill elected new chairman of Laois GAA

Kieran 'Shaggy' Leavy, left, and Peter O'Neill.

Peter O'Neill is the new chairman of Laois GAA, after he defeated Kieran Leavy in a vote at the Laois GAA Convention tonight.

O'Neill secured the victory by a margin of 86 votes to 67, with Leavy wishing his opponents all the best in the role in his speech afterwards. 

Tom Clear from Clough-Ballacolla is the new Vice Chairman, after the other three candidates in the running - Sean Mortimer, Kieran Leavy and Pat O'Sullivan - withdrew their names from ballot.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.