GAA - Laois ladies suffer heavy defeat at the hands of Tipperary in LIDL Division 2

GAA - Laois ladies suffer heavy defeat at the hands of Tipperary in LIDL Division 2

The Laois ladies suffered a second successive defeat in their LIDL NFL Division 2 campaign today, as they lost out to Tipperary in Ardfinnan.

Tipperary 5-14

Laois 1-5

It hadn't been a particularly ominous start to the game for Laois, as they clung on for the opening ten minutes as Tipperary came at them in waves - the sides were locked on 0-2 apiece, but the visitors were already struggling; Gillian O’Brien had opened the scoring for the home side while Caoimhe Condon also landed a neat effort. Meanwhile Aisling Keogh and Clare Conlon (free) hit back for Laois.

During the ensuing twenty-two minutes, however, Laois were overwhelmed as Tipperary blasted 4-6 without reply. Indeed, the Premier County may well have added two more goals to that tally with a bit of luck.

An excellent individual effort from Aisling McCarthy helped Tipp back into the lead before a Caoimhe Condon rasper was brilliantly saved by Laois ‘keeper Caoimhe Dollard. Tipperary, however, would not be denied in the 15th minute when Caoimhe Condon, Gillian O’Brien and Róisín Howard combined to set up Aisling McCarthy for the opening goal of the game.

McCarthy added a converted free soon after before creating the room for Róisín Howard to leave six between the sides (1-5 to 0-2) in the 19th minute.

Three minutes later Tipperary carved Laois open with a brilliant move involving Aisling McCarthy and Róisín Howard before Aishling Moloney blasted over with, you suspected, the goal at her mercy.

Laois’ Meaghan Dunne and Erone Fitzpatrick enjoyed slight glimpses of Lauren Fitzpatrick’s goal, but the home side struck for the second three-pointer of this contest in the 23rd minute - Aishling Moloney picked out the run of Aisling McCarthy with a terrific kick pass and McCarthy set up Róisín Howard for a cracker.

Aisling McCarthy then booted over a left foot point before sparking the move which led to Tipperary’s third goal in the 27th minute - this time Róisín Howard accepted a pass from McCarthy before finding Aishling Moloney’s off-the-shoulder supporting sally forward and the Cahir star buried a left-footed shot.

Two minutes later McCarthy - who the Laois defence utterly failed to deal with - set up Róisín Howard for another goal; Howard delivered off her right.

Gillian O’Brien landed an eighth Tipp point in the 31st minute and the home side led 4-8 to 0-2 before an Emma Lawlor point brought the opening half to a conclusion.

Tipperary led by seventeen points at the break (4-8 to 0-3).

Efforts from Aisling McCarthy and Róisín Howard forced Tipperary nineteen clear during the opening three minutes of the second half before Laois hit back with a goal of their own when Caoimhe Lalor set up Laura Nerney for an emphatic finish in the 36th minute.

Aishling Moloney and Aisling McCarthy responded with Tipperary points before a brace of Clare Condon frees brought the scoring to a conclusion from a Laois point of view.

The second half was not nearly as lively as the first as this contest cantered to an inevitable conclusion with a brace from Aisling McCarthy (one free) preceding Sarah Everard’s goal in the 62nd minute.

Tipperary: Lauren Fitzpatrick; Siobhán Condon, Maria Curley, Emma Buckley; Lorraine O'Shea; Samantha Lambert, Bríd Condon; Orla O'Dwyer, Aishling Moloney (1-2); Jennifer Grant, Gillian O'Brien (0-2), Niamh Lonergan; Caoimhe Condon (0-1), Róisín Howard (2-2), Aisling McCarthy (1-7, 0-2 frees). Subs: (HT) Anna Rose Kennedy for Emma Buckley, (HT) Shauna Quirke for Orla O’Dwyer, (44th) Courtney Lonergan for Niamh Lonergan, (44th) Sarah Everard (1-0) for Róisín Howard, (48th) Sarah Ryan for Shauna Quirke, (48th) Róisín McGrath for Caoimhe Condon, (48th) Laura Dillon for Lauren Fitzpatrick, (53rd) Gráinne Condon, Aishling Moloney.

Laois: Caoimhe Dollard, Mary Cotter, Victoria Byrne, Mags McEvoy, Áine Haberlin, Jane Moore, Anna Healy, Laura Nerney (1-0), Joyce Dunne, Caoimhe Simms, Erone Fitzpatrick, Emma Lawlor (0-1), Meaghen Dunne, Aisling Keogh (0-1), Clare Conlon (0-3, 0-3 frees). Subs: (HT) Caoimhe Lalor for Meaghan Dunne, (HT) Ciara Langton for Aisling Keogh, (47th) Aimee Kelly for Áine Haberlin.

Referee: J Murphy (Carlow).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.