Game at a Glance: Laois draw with Carlow in Leinster MFC Round 3

Michelle Hogan


Michelle Hogan

Game at a Glance: Laois draw with Carlow in Leinster  MFC Round 3

Josh Lacey, Laois on the attack in their Leinster M.F.C clash with Carlow Photo Denis Byrne

Game at a Glance: Laois draw with Carlow in Leinster MFC Round 3

Main Man
On an evening where there were few standout performances, Ballyroan Abbey’s Ciaran Byrne was consistent throughout. Worked through a lot of ball and was clever in possession, anchored the full-back line well against a defensive setup.

Talking Point
Carlow came under a lot of criticism in the last week for their heavy opening game defeat to Kildare having registered a mere two points in the hour. They managed ten this time out, and very nearly escaped O’Moore Park with a win.

Turning Point
Sean Michael Corcoran’s late frees, the second of which was the last kick of the game right out on the sideline, salvaged a draw for Donnacha Phelan’s men.

An accidental clash of heads between Laois captain and full-forward, Sean O’Neill, and Carlow’s Jonah Dunne prematurely ended both’s evening after eighteen minutes. A speedy recovery to both.


Scorers: Sean Michael Corcoran and Josh O’Brien 0-2f each; Niall Carey, Oisin Byrne (f), Damon Larkin, Eamon Delaney (f), Josh Lacey and Seamus Farrelly 0-1 each.

Team: Tom Wright (Ballylinan); Sean Greene (Emo), Cathal Bennett (Portarlington), Ciarán Byrne (Ballyroan-Abbey); Niall Carey (Portlaoise), Eamonn Delaney (Stradbally), Seth Burns Mooney (Courtwood); Ben Conroy (Portlaoise), Josh Lacey (St Joseph’s); Enda McWey (Ballyroan-Abbey), Damon Larkin (Portlaoise), Darragh Galvin (Portarlington); Rioghan Murphy (Portarlington), Sean O’Neill (The Rock) (Captain), Oisin Byrne (Arles-Killeen). SUBS: Seamus Farrelly (St Joseph’s) for O’Neill (18 mins); Sean Michael Corcoran (Portarlington) for McWey (31 mins); Cathal Doyle (Ballyroan-Abbey) for Conroy (HT); Josh O’Brien (St Joseph’s) for Byrne (HT); Conor Goode (Stradbally) for Murphy (38 mins); Mikey Bennett (Portarlington) for Mooney (44 mins).

Scorers: Jacob O’Brien 0-6 (0-4f); Colin Byrne, Richie Whelan, Patrick McDonnell and Patrick Regan 0-1 each.
Team: Kuba Budzisz; Cormac Connolly, Craig Bowden, Jonah Dunne; Patrick McDonnell, Adam Nolan, Richie Whelan; Finbarr Kavanagh, Jacob O’Brien; Mark Behan, Jack McCullagh, Luke Connolly; Patrick Regan, Colin Byrne, Ben Crotty. SUBS: Darragh Nolan for Dunne (18 mins); Conor Duffy for Byrne (38 mins); Steven Metcalfe for Bowden (40 mins); David Dunphy for Regan (52 mins); Sean Moran for Whelan (52 mins); James Cummins for McDonnell (BC, 64 mins).

Referee: Chris Dwyer (Offaly)

Laois Minors earn late draw against Carlow thanks to Corcoran frees.