Borris-Kilcotton at their ease to beat 13 man Clough-Ballacolla

Rory Delaney


Rory Delaney


Borris-Kilcotton at their ease to beat 13 man Clough-Ballacolla

Borris-Kilcotton claimed a comfortable win on Sunday.

Borris-Kilcotton will take on Camross in the Laois SHC semi-final after they comfortably dealt with Clough-Ballacolla in O'Moore Park this afternoon.

Borris-Kilcotton 3-23

Clough-Ballacolla 1-11

In what was expected to be the game of the weekend, Borris-Kilcotton proved far too good for Clough-Ballacolla on the day. They powered ahead midway through the first half, and Clough-Ballacolla never looked like launching a meaningful comeback.

The game started at a whirlwind pace, with Aidan Corby firing over the opening point within seconds of the throw in. From the resulting puck out, Borris-Kilcotton broke forward and worked the ball to Stephen Dunphy in the penalty area, and he flicked home the goal.

Joe Campion added a point soon after, with Stephen Bergin responding for Clough-Ballacolla and that made it four scores in the opening three minutes. Willie Hyland added another for Clough-Ballacolla to get them within one, but that was as good as it got for them in the first half.

Stephen Finan and Aaron Dunphy hit the target for Borris-Kilcotton to leave the goal between the teams, as Sean Corby tried to lead a Clough-Ballacolla comeback.

Colm Stapleton and Willie Hyland (free) traded points before Borris-Kilcotton started to take a firm control on proceedings. Paddy Whelan and Stephen Dunphy both pointed to open up a four point lead, and from there it only got bigger.

Aaron Dunphy got his second, a good score from the right wing, and then PJ Scully landed his first free of the game. He added another a few minutes later before Joe Campion got his second, and with Scully adding one from play, it meant Borris-Kilcotton now lead by nine.

That soon became ten thanks to a brilliant Conor Kilbane point, as Borris-Kilcotton looked like they were going to disappear over the horizon. Clough-Ballacolla needed something to clin gto before the break, and points from Jordan Walshe and Picky Maher left it 1-12 to 0-7 at the interval.

If the first half was disappointing for Clough-Ballacolla, then the start to the second was disastrous. In the opening minute PJ Scully tapped over a point from 25 yards out, before they struck for their second goal. Conor Kilbane held off his marker on the edge of the penalty area and slipped a shot past Danny Hanlon.

Aaron Dunphy added a point moments later, with a shell-shocked Clough-Ballacolla trying to steady the ship with a free from Picky Maher.

It did nothing to half the Borris-Kilcotton momentum though, and they kept pouring forward. PJ Scully landed a nice point from play before converting two more frees, Aaron Dunphy then got his fourth and Conor Kilbane's rasping shot for the top-corner was tipped over the bar, leaving Borris-Kilcotton leading 2-19 to 0-8.

Jordan Walshe landed a fine point for Ballacolla in response, with it was quickly canceled out by frees from PJ Scully and Eoin Fleming.

Clough-Ballacolla did manage a late rally, with Picky Maher managing to squeeze a shot past Eoin Fleming from an acute angle, but it came far too late to make a meaningful difference.

To compound their misery, John A Delaney was then sent off with a little over a minute left, and Willie Hyland soon followed him after a wild pull.

Borris-Kilcotton then finished with a flourish as PJ Scully's late free found the top corner, and Camross now await them in the last four.


Scorers: PJ Scully 1-9 (1-6 frees), Conor Kilbane, Stephen Dunphy 1-2 each, Aaron Dunphy 0-4, Joe Campion 0-2, Paddy Whelan, Colm Stapleton, Eoin Fleming (free) 0-1 each.

Team: Eoin Fleming; Noel Delaney, Brian Stapleton, Stephen Finan; Stephen Phelan, Matthew Whelan, Jim Fitzpatrick; Paddy Whelan, Colm Stapleton; Conor Kilbane, Joe Campion, Danny Fitzpatrick; Aaron Dunphy, Stephen Dunphy, PJ Scully. Subs: Bill Meade for C Stapleton (56 mins), Eoin Fitzpatrick for Kilbane (59 mins)


Scorers: Stephen Maher 1-3 (0-2 frees), Willie Hyland (0-1 free), Jordan Walshe 0-2 each, Aidan Corby, Sean Corby, Stephen Bergin, Brian Corby 0-1 each.

Team: Danny Hanlon; Ronan Broderick, Darren Maher, John A Delaney; Robbie Phelan, Lee Cleere, Canice Coonan; Aidan Corby, Stephen Maher; John Dwyer, Willie Hyland, Willie Dunphy; Stephen Bergin, Jordan Walshe, Sean Corby. Subs: Brian Corby for Bergin (22 mins), Eoin Doyle for Phelan (26 mins), Shane Hanlon for Dwyer (half time), Tim Delaney for S Corby (46 mins)

Referee: John O'Brien (Portlaoise)