Moore the merrier as hat-trick helps Park-Ratheniska Spink to U-14 football glory

Aisling O'Dea


Aisling O'Dea


Moore the merrier as hat-trick helps Park-Ratheniska Spink to U-14 football glory

Park-Ratheniska-Spink became the Midland Park Hotel U-14 'B' champions on Saturday afternoon after they had six points to spare over Rosenallis.

Park-Ratheniska Spink 3-5

Rosenallis 1-5

Despite a brave second half performance from Rosenallis, it wasn’t enough to see off a strong Park Ratheniska Spink side. Half forward Cian Moore finished the game with a hat trick while Brian Duggan and Ethan Drury were also very impressive.

The game was slow to get going with both sides missing their fair share of chances in the opening ten minutes. However it was Park Ratheniska who got the first score of the game when Ethan Drury made a great run down the centre to kick the ball over the bar. Brian Duggan then followed up with another point for his side after 13 minutes of play.

The same player then set up Cian Moore for his first of three goals. Duggan turned his marker to find Moore free to place the ball into the back of the net. Fionn Kempster got Rosenallis on the scoreboard after 20 minutes with a great point off the left foot. The score after 20 minutes saw Park Ratheniska Spink lead 1-2 to 0-1.

Just before the break Park-Ratheniska-Spink put further daylight between the sides when Moore struck for another goal and Brian Duggan followed up with another free. The half time score saw Park Ratheniska lead 2-3 to 0-1.

Park Ratheniska were quick off the mark after the throw in as Moore goaled again when he kicked the ball off the ground and into the bottom corner. The two full forwards then traded points as the score after 40 minutes saw Park Ratheniska lead 2-4 to 0-3.

Rosenallis did come strong in the final ten minutes as they pushed for goal put just couldn’t get past Liam Kehoe who pulled off some brillant saves. It wasn’t until the last minute of play when Rosenallis got in for goal as Diarmuid Dooley blasted the ball past Liam Kehoe.


Scorers: Cian Moore 3-0, Brian Duggan 0-3 (0-1 free), Ryan Quinlan and Ethan Drury 0-1 each.

Team: Liam Kehoe; Luke Dunne, Brandon McCarthy, Luke O’Reilly; Eric Smith, Ethan Drury, Ryan Quinlan; Jimmy Gorman, Cian Moore; Cian Nolan, Matthew Sheehan, Aaron Szwaglis, Brian Duggan, Adam Ramsbottom.


Scorers: Diarmuid Dooley 1-0, John Kelly and Jimmy Hyland 0-2 each.

Team: Nathan Walsh; Padraig Glancy, Eoin McEvoy, Barry McEvoy; Oran Gorman, Eoin Sharpe, Alex Redmond; Jimmy Hyland, Fionn Kempster; Robbie Culliton, Diarmuid Dooley; Colin Bennett, Ger Glancy, John Kelly, Joe Hyland.