Camross lose out to Kilcormac-Killoughey

Kilcomac-Killoughey 1-18

Kilcomac-Killoughey 1-18

Camross 1-10

Kilcomac-Killoughey got the defence of their Leinster Club SHC title off to a fine start with an eight point win over Camross.

By Rory Delaney

Danny Owens side looked sluggish in the opening stages, but sprung to life in the second half to run out deserving winners. Camross had gotten off to a bright start, with Zane Keenan and Aaron Moore among the scorers as they lead 0-6 to 0-3 after 15 minutes.

Kilcormac found form after that, however, and lead by Ciaran Slevin they fought back to lead 0-10 to 0-8 at half time. They clicked into a higher gear after the interval, as they hit five points without reply before James Gorman bundled the ball over the line for the goal which all but ended the game as a contest.

Camross did manage a late goal as a consolation, through Tomás Burke, but Kilcormac were comfortable in the end and ran out convincing winners.

SCORERS - Kilcormac-Killoughey: Ciaran Slevin 0-7 (5f), James Gorman 1-1, Peter Geraghty 0-3, Damien Kilmartin, Killian Leonard 0-2 each, Conor Mahon, Dan Currams, Thomas Geraghty 0-1 each

Camross: Zane Keenan 0-5 (0-3 frees), Tomás Burke 1-0, Damien Keenan, Matthew Collier, Ciaran Collier, Dean Delaney, Aaron Moore 0-1 each

CAMROSS: T Doran; M Phelan, M Moloney, P Guilfoyle; M Burke, G Burke, D Keenan; Z Keenan, M Collier; C Collier, T Burke, A Collier; A Moore, D Palmer, D Delaney. Subs: O Dowling for M Collier (38), T Brickley for A Collier (45), L Burke for C Collier (52), J Palmer for D Palmer (52), M Delaney for T Burke (60)

KILCORMAC-KILLOUGHEY: C Slevin; C Guinan, G Healion, C Mahon; K Grogan, P Healion, B Leonard; D Kilmartin, K Leonard; C Slevin, C Mahon, P Geraghty; J Gorman, D Currams, T Geraghty. Subs: T Fletcher for K Leonard (52), J Geraghty for Kilmartin (54), C Kiely for P Geraghty (54), A McConville for K Grogan (57), E Grogan for B Leonard (59)

Referee: S Cleere (KIlkenny)