Ballinakill dent Borris-Kilcotton hopes

A stunning second half performance from Ballinakill saw them scupper Borris-Kilcotton’s semi-final hopes last Thursday night.

A stunning second half performance from Ballinakill saw them scupper Borris-Kilcotton’s semi-final hopes last Thursday night.

ACHL Division 1

Ballinakill 3-17

Borris-Kilcotton 0-18


Trailing by three points at the break, Ballinakill rattled off 3-10 in the second half, with the three goals coming in the space of four minutes to leave Borris-Kilcotton reeling.

Borris-Kilcotton were expected to take the win here, as they welcomed back the bulk of the their county players. They looked lethargic for the most part however, and when Ballinakill upped the pace of the game after half time, Borris-Kilcotton had no response.

It is worrying for them with the championship fast approaching that they seemed so devoid of form in this game. When the challenge was put up to them in the second half, they couldn’t summon a good enough response, so they have much to contemplate.

For Ballinakill, they will be delighted with the victory, and most of their top players are in good form. Cha Dwyer hit some wonderful scores on his way to a haul of 2-5, while Seamus Dwyer also scored 0-5 from play, an impressive return from midfield.

Borris-Kilcotton had just shaded the first half, as four point from Joe Campion saw them lead 0-10 to 0-7 at the interval.

A John Wall point put them four ahead early in the second half, but Ballinakill came back into it with points from Eamon Jackman and Cha Dwyer. With confidence now coursing through them, they kept piling forward, and were rewarded for their efforts.

Goals from Cha Dwyer (2) and TJ Lalor saw them a commanding nine point lead, and there was no way back for Borris-Kilcotton from there.

SCORERS - Ballinakill: Cha Dwyer 2-5, Seamus Dwyer 0-5, Eamon Jackman 0-5 (0-4 frees, 0-1 65), TJ Lalor 1-1, Sean Downey 0-1. Borris-Kilcotton: Joe Campion 0-4, PJ Scully (frees), Ciaran Comerford (0-2 frees, 0-1 65), Neil Foyle 0-3 each, John Wall 0-2, Kevin Finlay, Conor Kilbane, Patrick Whelan 0-1 each.

BALLINAKILL: Paul Simms; Brendan O’Mara, Padraig Lalor, Eoin Delaney; David Phelan, James Walsh, Brian O’Mara; Seamus Dwyer, Sean Downey; Eamon Jackman, Barry Dunne, Eddie Dwyer; Damien Carter, Cha Dwyer, TJ Lalor. Subs: Conor Delaney for E Delaney (52 mins), MJ Dunphy for Carter (55 mins)

BORRIS-KILCOTTON: Eoin Fleming; Noel Delaney, Matthew Whelan, Stephen Finan; Bill Meade, Patrick Whelan, Jim Fitzpatrick; Colm Stapleton, Conor Kilbane; Kevin Finlay, Joe Campion, Neil Foyle; Ciaran Comerford, John Wall, PJ Scully. Subs: Martin Coss for Stapleton (half time), Robert Jones for Comerford (38 mins)

Referee: Michael Cleere (Rathdowney-Errill)