The Rock ease themselves to league title

The Rock eased their way to the Division 5 league title final in Mountmellick on Friday night with a comprehensive win over an under preforming Ballyfin side.

The Rock eased their way to the Division 5 league title final in Mountmellick on Friday night with a comprehensive win over an under preforming Ballyfin side.

Football ACFL Division 5 Final

The Rock 0-11

Ballyfin 0-4


The seven point winning margin may have slightly flattered The Rock but in truth once the men in black and red got their noses in front mid-way through the first period the trophy was always destined to make the short trip across the parish to take up residence.

The Rock set their stall out early and got off to a flying start and once they got their noses in front they never looked back. Three points in the opening five minutes from Johnny Allan (free), Brian Moss and Anavil Storey set up The Rock, giving them a lead they would never relinquish.

Despite the quick start Ballyfin managed to reduce the deficit to the minimum by the seventh minute. Scott Connolly and Paul Connolly raising the white flags to peg The Rock back. The Rocks superiority up-front saw them regroup and finished the half the stronger.

Veteran Derek Conroy helped himself to a brace followed by Allen and a Stephen Brew long range effort which saw The Rock go to the break 0-7 0-2 to the good.

The Rock started the second as they did the first. Brian Moss and Daire White were on target early doors to put one hand firmly on the silverware and even at this early juncture of the second period Ballyfin were all but playing for pride, a task made all the more difficult when David Dunphy received his marching orders for a second bookable offence in the fifty second minute.

To their credit Ballyfin kept battling away and were rewarded with points from Paul Connolly and Paul Holohan. The Rock nullified these with late points from Allen and Kevin Donoher assuring there would be no late comeback for the Ballyfin men.

The Rock will be buoyed from taking some silverware as they attempt to rebuild in what has been a difficult few seasons having lost their senior status last year.

For Ballyfin they have the consolation of gaining promotion to division four and can use this positive as they plan ahead for the upcoming championship.

SCORERS – The Rock: Johnny Allen 0-3 (all frees), Derek Conroy, Brian Moss (0-1 free) 0-2 each, Kevin Donogher, Keith Storey, Stepehen Brew, Daire White 0-1 each. Ballyfin: Paul Connoly 0-2 (0-1 free), Paul Holohan, Scott Connoly (free) 0-1 each.

THE ROCK: Conor Allen; Kurt Clover, Ben Storey, Kevin Donoher; Brendan Murphy, Niall Dunne, Conor Flynn; Diarmuid Dooley, Keith Storey; Stephen Brew, Brian Moss, Anavil Storey; Johnny Allen, Derek Conroy, Daire White. Subs: Michael McDonald for D Conroy (36 mins), Darren Bennett for S Brew (57 mins), Paul Allen for D White (60 mins)

BALLYFIN:Oliver Phelan; Matthew Lalor, Ciarán Fingleton, Sean Walsh; David Dunphy, Gareth Dunphy, Liam Dunne; Paul Holohan , Darragh Connolly; Mark Walsh, Jason Horan, Brian Dowling; Liam Swayne, Scott Connolly, Paul Connolly. Subs: Joe Bennett for S Connolly (43 mins), Conal Brennan for L Swayne (50 mins), Conor Dunphy for M Walsh (50 mins), John McCormack for B Dowling (57 mins)

Referee: Colm Lawlor (Emo)