FF and FG share the spoils again


FF and FG share the spoils again

It was a game of musical chairs between Fianna Fail and Fine Gael at the Graiguecullen/Portarlington municipal district annual general meeting.

Cllr Paschal McEvoy (FF) succeeded Cllr Tom Mulhall (FG) to the Chair, while Cllr John Moran (FG) was elevated to the Vice-chairmanship.

Sinn Fein’s Cllr Aidan Mullins proposed Cllr Ben Brennan (Ind) for both positions. There was no seconder.

Recalling his year in office, Cllr Mulhall said the highlights were the opening of Portarlington library and of the northern relief road in Graiguecullen.

It was Cllr Padraig Fleming (FF) who proposed Cllr McEvoy for the Chair. Cllr Moran seconded.

The Stradbally-based Cllr McEvoy returned the compliment by proposing Cllr Moran for the Vice-chairmanship. Cllr Fleming seconded.

Cllr McEvoy was elected for the first time at the last local elections.