Laois Heartlands car rally confirms final arrangments for competitors

heartlands rally

Laois Heartlands Rally.

Laois Rallysport Club has issued final instructions to competitors ahead of this weekend's Rally.

The O’Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise & Ace Signs Laois Rallysport Club Stages Rally takes place on Sunday, June 10 on roads around Laois with the HQ in Portlaoise.

Louis Garry Clerk of Course finalised the arrangments on June 7 for the event which has so far attracted more than 70 competitors.

He says the trailer park will be located in Martleys Yard, Kilminchy, Dublin Road, Portlaoise. This area will be signposted.

All Crews are invited to attend the ceremonial start. Please Assemble at Parc Ferme at 6.45pm on Saturday 11th June.

Pace note making takes place on Saturday, June 9 between 9.30 am and 4 pm.

Last admission into any stage is 3.30pm. There will be three runs only per stage. Sign on from 9am to 12.30pm in O’Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise.

Any crew not signed on for recce will be deemed as non starters.

The mechanical scrutiny area will be will be located in the County Hall Portlaoise. No trailers can be left in scrutiny area. Once the Car passes scrutiny it must be placed in Parc Ferme immediately. There will be security on Parc Ferme all night. Competitors will then have 30 minutes to go and complete Paper scrutiny after

Mechanical Scrutiny from 2pm to 6.30pm. Paper scrutiny from 3-7pm in O'Loughlin's Hotel.

More below picture

The Service/Scrutiny & Parc Ferme is located in the Plaza Laois County Hall Portlaoise.

The service Area opens at 8.15AM on Sunday 11th June. All Service Vehicles must be in Service by 9.45AM. The organisers ask competitors to respect local residents.

All competition cars must use a large non porous service nat when in the service area. Penalty for not using a mat or littering the service area will be 2 minutes. 

Strictly No Parking on the Main Road in service.

Please dispose of all rubbish in service using the bin bags provided in your pack as we would like to use this venue again. There is a 1 Way System in operation in Service at all times.

Please follow Arrows and Marshall’s Directions.

Drivers Briefing is at 09.45am on Sunday 10th June in O’Loughlins Hotel Portlaoise for all crews. A random roll call of 10 crews will be made.

First Car away from Parc Ferme at 11am.

Prizegiving will take place in O’Loughlins Hotel. Prizegiving will start no later than 30 minutes  after results are declared final.

Change of officials

Motorsport Ireland Steward 1 Paul Hughes 
Motorsport Ireland Steward 2 Cryil Rollins 
Car Accountability Paddy Quigley 
Chief Rescue Officer Fergal Henehan.

Chief Marshal is Benny Dowling (086) 3132859. Marshals are still required. All help appreciated.

Withdraw please contact Kate Scott (086) 7577613 or Eoin Longworth (086) 8179297ASAP.


The list of competitors on June 5 was as follows:

1 Enda O'Brien/John Butler (Ford Escort Mk2) [14]
2 David Condell/George Condell (Ford Escort Mk2) [14]
3 Jack Newman/Andrew Browne (Ford Escort Mk2) [14]
4 Colin Byrne/Eric Calnan (Ford Escort Mk2) [14]
5 Alan Smyth/Mac Kierans (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10) [20]
6 Dan Gorman/Nigel Moody (Ford Escort Mk2) [13]
7 Sam Smyth/Martin Byrne (Ford Escort Mk2) [13]
8 Leon Galvin/Ger Foley (Ford Escort Mk2) [13]
9 Alan Atcheson/Thomas Wedlock (Ford Fiesta Proto) [20]
10 Brian O'Keeffe/Sean Hayde (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [4]
11 Eamon O'Connell/Paul Bruton (Ford Fiesta S2000) [20]
12 Conor McCrossan/Kaine Treanor (Skoda Fabia S2000) [20]
14 James Wilson/TBA (Peugeot 208 R2) [2]
15 Lloyd Hutchinson/Willie Fitzpatrick (Austin Mini Cooper S) [9]
16 Declan Byrne/Gary Deegan (Honda Civic Type R) [2]
17 Jason Roche/John McCarthy (Ford Escort Mk2) [13]
18 Terence O'Shaughnessy/TBA (Toyota Corolla) [11R]
19 Leo Doyle/Gordon Manley (Ford Escort Mk1) [13]
20 Michael Brazil/Ray Fitzpatrick (Peugeot 205 RWD) [13]
21 Eamonn McGuigan/Micheal Moran (Ford Escort) [12]
22 John Kelly/Paul Kelly (Peugeot 106) [2]
23 Sarah Purcell/TBA (Honda Civic) [11F]
24 Neil Phelan/Joey Hearns (Ford Escort) [14]
25 Anthony Masterson/Tom Clinton (Ford Escort RS) [14]
26 Pascal O'Shea/Robbie Hennessy (BMW 325) [14]
27 Paul Manton/Adam Coffey (Citroen DS3 R3) [3]
28 Larry Brady/Anne Brady (Honda Civic) [3]
29 Richie Dalton/Ger Brett (Subaru Impreza N11) [4]
30 Cal McCarthy/Gavin Sheehan (Citroen C2 R2) [2]
31 Eoin Neville/TBA (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [4]
32 Colum Browne/Paddy King (Honda Civic) [11F]
33 Aaron Martley/TBA (Toyota Corolla Twincam) [11R]
34 Liam Higgins/Alan Higgins (BMW E30) [11R]
35 Patrick Delaney/Stephen Delaney (Ford Escort Mk2) [12]
36 Tommy Foley/Aarron Watters (Honda Civic) [11F]
37 Brian Cooney/Michael Whelan (Ford Escort) [12]
38 Mike Dolan/Ann Hutchinson (Honda Civic) [11F]
39 Andrew McLoone/William Kehoe (Vauxhall Chevette HSR) [13]
40 John Hayes/Andy Hayes (Honda Civic R3) [3]
41 Francis Kelly/Charlotte Egan (Vauxhall Nova) [9]
42 Brian Nugent/Pat Knox (Subaru Impreza) [15]
43 Joe Gallagher/MO Downey (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9) [4]
44 Steven Corey/Vinnie Boyd (Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 8) [20]
45 Fergal Kelly/Tim Maher (Ford Escort G4) [13]
46 Alan Lane/Ger Clancy (Honda Civic) [11F]
47 Brian Walker/Paul Walker (Ford Puma) [11F]
48 John McDonald/James McDonald (Ford Escort Mk2) [1]
49 Ciaran Cloke/David Creane (Peugeot 306 GTI 6) [3]
50 Mark Ashton/Tony Kelly (Honda Civic EK4) [1]
51 Brendan Hearns/Stephen Hearns (Opel Corsa) [9]
52 Cathal Martley/Jess Arstall (Toyota Corolla Twincam) [11R]
53 P J Doyle/Peter Ryan (Peugeot 205) [9]
54 Des Lyons/Ashling McArdle (Honda Civic EK4) [11F]
55 Michael Tumulty/Jay Walker (Peugeot 106 Cup Car) [1]
56 Ciaran Forrestal/Noel Byrne (Peugeot 205 GTi) [10]
57 Mark Martley/TBA (Ford Escort Mk2) [9]
58 Donal McGrath/Finbarr Fogarty (TBATBA) [1]
59 Joe Moffitt/Eddie Moffitt (Honda Civic) [1]
60 Shane Curry/Noel Coogan (Citroen C2 R2) [2]
61 George Cullen/Thomas Hayes (Ford Escort RS1800) [19]
62 Wayne Keogh/Paul Lacey (Skoda Fabia VRS TDI) [3]
63 Martin Freestone/Misha Freestone (Ford RS 1600) [18]
64 Stephen Dooley/Sean Lambert (Ford Escort Mk2) [11R]
65 Daragh Smith/TBA (Honda Civic) [16]
66 Mark O'Connor/Dean Kelly (Ford Escort Mk2) [11R]
67 Michael Cunniffe/Barry Talt (Peugeot 106 GTi) [16]
68 Derek Walker/Shane Walker (Toyota Corolla Twincam) [11R]
69 Mark Hayden/Paul Furlong (Ford Escort Mk2) [11R]
70 Annemarie O'Driscoll/Anthony O'Driscoll (Ford KA) [9]
71 Ger Power/Busher David (Vauxhall Nova) [9]

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.