18 Aug 2022

Mulhare and McConnell rule the roads

Trevor Percy, Dan Mulhare, Aengus Burke, Trevor McCormack, Cyril Cuddy and Joe Walsh, Laois Road Champions 2013. Photo James McCormack
The Laois Senior road racing championships were hosted by St Abban’s Athletic Club on Sunday last.

The Laois Senior road racing championships were hosted by St Abban’s Athletic Club on Sunday last.

There were individual wins for Grace McConnell from Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District AC in the Womens race, and Dan Mulhare of Portlaoise AC in the mens.

The Senior Women’s 4k race was first off and saw a group of seven break away into an early lead on the first of three laps. By the end of the second lap there was still six athletes in contention.

This included Grace McConnell, who was now starting to push the pace up front, with Paula and Sharon Grant, Ruth Hodgins, Breda Mulcahy and Maeve Griffiths. This group remained close right up to the final stages, with Grace McConnell finishing the stronger and pulling four seconds clear of Breda Mulcahy of St Abban’s. Sharon Grant from Portlaoise AC was just three seconds behind in third place.

With placings that tight up front there was always going to be very little in it for the team positions and that proved to be the case with St Abban’s AC team winning on 22 points, from Portlaoise AC 25 points and Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District 33 points.

In the men’s race veteran Martin McDonald led the race through the first lap, closely followed by Dan Mulhare. By the end of the second lap Dan had pulled away into a commanding lead and extended that lead to the finish, covering the 8k race in 25’33”. Veteran Colm Burke from St Abban’s showed good form after recent injury to finish second and was closely followed by another veteran Tony Reilly of Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District.

In the team event is was another close affair with Portlaoise coming out on top by three points from St Abban’s and Ballyroan Abbeyleix and District finishing third. Refreshments were provided afterwards by host club St Abban’s at their sports complex where medals were presented.

Thanks to St Abban’s for the refreshments and to Ben Brennan for his continued sponsorship.

Ladies Results

Senior Womens 4k

1st - Grace Mc Connell (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 14.48; 2nd - Breda Mulcahy (St Abban’s) 14.52; 3rd Sharon Grant (Portlaoise) 14.55; 4th - Ruth Hodgins (Portlaoise) 15.01; 5th - Maire Griffiths (St Abban’s) 15.08; 6th - Paula Grant (Portlaoise) 15.18; 7th - Ailish Brennan (St Abban’s) 15.53; 8th - Colette English (St Abban’s) 16.18; 9th - Jean McEvoy (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 16.21; 10th - Michelle Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 16.34; 11th - Pam Power (Portlaoise) 16.44; 12th - Caitriona McDonald (St Abban’s) 16.56; 13th - Breda McDonald (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 17.27; 14th - Amanda McDonald (Portlaoise) 17.55; 15th - Carol Brennan (St Abban’s) 18.00; 16th - Margo Dowling (St Abban’s) 19.10; 17th - Ann Nichol-Waugh (St Abban’s) 19.52

Teams: 1st - St Abban’s (2, 5, 7, 8) 22pts - Breda Mulcahy, Maire Griffiths, Ailish Brennan, Colette English; 2nd - Portlaoise (3, 4, 6, 11) 24pts - Sharon Grant, Ruth Hodgins, Paula Grant, Pam Power; 3rd - Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts (1, 9, 10, 13) 33pts - Grace McConnell, Jean McEvoy, Michelle Fitzpatrick, Breda McDonald; 4th - St Abban’s (12, 15, 16, 17) 60pts - Caitriona McDonald, Carol Brennan, Margo Dowling, Ann Nichol-Waugh

Mens Results

Senior Men - 8k

1st - Dan Mulhare (Portlaoise) 25.33; 2nd - Colm Burke (St Abban’s) 26.30; 3rd - Tony Reilly (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 26.59; 4th - Aengus Burke (Portlaoise) 27.34; 5th - Cyril Cuddy (Portlaoise) 27.37; 6th - Martin McDonald (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 27.47; 7th - Dermot Ayres (St Abban’s) 28.15; 8th - Colm McEvoy (St Abban’s) 28.18; 9th - Philip Roche (St Abban’s) 28.22; 10th - Ciaran Keenan (Ballyfin) 28.35; 11th - Owen Connolly (St Michael’s) 28.42; 12th - Seamus Miller (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 29.04; 13th - Trevor McCormack (Portlaoise) 29.14; 14th - John Kirwan (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 29.26; 15th - Shane Delaney (Ballyfin) 29.37; 16th - Riobard Miller (Ballyfin) 30.12; 17th - John Paul Phelan (Ballyfin) 30.29; 18th - Dino Bland (Ballyfin) 30.50; 19th- Tom Dunne (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 31.32; 20th - Fran Fleming Jnr (St Abban’s) 31.35; 21st Tim Churchouse (Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts) 31.44; 22nd - Niall English (St Abban’s) 31.50; 23rd - Trevor Percy (Portlaoise) 32.01; 24th - Aidan Mullally (St Michael’s) 32.09; 25th - Joe Harding (St Abban’s) 32.14; 26th - Fran Fleming Snr (St Abban’s) 32.18; 27th - Joe Walsh (Portlaoise) 33.48; 28th - Dinny Whelan (St Abban’s) 38.41


1st - Portlaoise (1, 4, 5, 13) 23pts - Dan Mulhare, Aengus Burke, Cyril Cuddy, Trevor McCormack; 2nd - St Abban’s (2, 7, 8, 9) 26pts - Colm Burke, Dermot Ayres, Colm McEvoy, Philip Roche; 3rd - Ballyroan Abbeyleix and Districts (3, 6, 12, 14) 35pts - Tony Reilly, Martin McDonald, Seamus Miller, John Kirwan; 4th - Ballyfin (10, 15, 16, 17) 58pts - Ciaran Keenan, Shane Delaney, Riobard Miller, John Paul Phelan; 5th - St Abbans ‘B’ (20, 22, 25, 26) 93pts - Fran Fleming (jnr), Niall English, Joe Harding, Fran Fleming (snr).

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.