Abbeyleix host West Leinster Under 10 Hockey Blitz

Abbeyleix Junior Hockey Club recently hosted the annual U-10s Hockey Blitz in Naas at the Sports Centre on Caragh Road with the kind assistance of Naas Hockey Club.

Abbeyleix Junior Hockey Club recently hosted the annual U-10s Hockey Blitz in Naas at the Sports Centre on Caragh Road with the kind assistance of Naas Hockey Club.

All agreed it was the coldest morning yet this year. Teams from Naas, North Kildare, Newbridge and Carlow along with the four teams from Abbeyleix brought to more than 150 U-10s players who participated fully and gave their best in sporting and enjoyable games.

Experienced players along with younger players gave a fine show of hockey for all to enjoy. It was clear to see how skills and confidence had grown over the season.

The warm refreshments and bakes provided by the club’s parents were most welcome on the morning. The event was very successful and the club is very grateful to all the players and their families for their dedication.

The event could not have been held without the support of Declan Stanley U-16s team who assisted Ann Cantwell and her team of Umpires. Their involvement was instrumental in keeping the games flowing and fun for the U-10s.

Many of these players went on to play a strongly contested U-16s match in the afternoon against Newbridge in Naas. When Michelle sounded the final hooter it signalled the end of another fine season of hockey blitzes for these young players. Abbeyleix Junior Hockey Club is very grateful to Derek, Tina and Naas Hockey Club for the use of their fine pitch and facilities.

Abbeyleix 1: Nathan Blundell, Penny Conroy, Tally Hassett, Grace Kerfoot, Orla McCorry, Darragh Phelan, Ruairí Phelan, Ava Shirley. Team Leader: Sarah

Abbeyleix 2: Camilla Black, Michael Culliton, Orla Looney, Louise Moynan, Niamh O’Sullivan, Una Rafter, Adam Shirley. Team Leaders: Mairéad and Fiona.

Abbeyleix 3: Thomas Bradley, James Conroy, Ellie Culliton, Daisy Jay, Inez Looney, Paige Moore, Sarah Talbot. Team Leader: Aileen.

Abbeyleix 4: Ruth Carroll, Rachel Fitzpatrick, Emma Holohan, Mai Looney, Amy O Halloran, Colm Rafter, Jessica Shirley. Team Leader: Pauline

Umpires: Alison Harvey, Kate Bell, Nicole Moynan, Louise Cantwell, Isobel Black, Carla Ponsioen, Peter Roe, Fiona O Connell, Alana Phelan, Laura Holohan and David Bell.


Carlow Hockey Club have rescheduled U10s Blitz for Saturday; April 13th at Kilkenny College at 10pm. This blitz was cancelled during the season due to very heavy frost and unplayable pitch. Abbeyleix U10s and 1 u12 team will participate.

Hockey club Cardiac First response and Defibrillator training. Six leaders completed the CFR and Defibrillator training in Abbeyleix Park Meeting room recently. Committee would like to thank Ingrid Condell for giving the course and the 6 attendees who completed it : Marie Thompson, Ann Cantwell, Helen Moore, Audrey Holohan, Paul Ponsioen and Garry Luttrell

Abbeyleix U-16s are West Leinster Champions

Abbeyleix U-16s finished top of the West Leinster League last weekend without striking a ball as the results of other matches went their way.

With two matches remaining Abbeyleix cannot be caught and will be presented with the trophy at the WL U-16 tournament in Kilkenny next weekend. It was a great achievement for Declan Stanley’s team who managed to get team playing so well together particularly after losing their only match to Tullamore.

It was particularly impressive with players from such a wide variety of schools across the region and not all hockey playing ones. Kilkenny College, Loretta Kilkenny, Heywood, Mountrath and Mountmellick Community schools, Kings Hospital and Alexandria College were represented in the panel.

Team P W L D GF GA Points

Abbeyleix 5 4 1 0 13 4 12

Tullamore 2 5 3 0 2 7 3 11

North Kildare 4 2 2 0 6 4 6

Newbridge 3 1 1 1 3 2 4

Naas 4 0 2 2 2 7 2

Tullamore 1 5 0 4 1 2 7 1