02 Dec 2021

Fianna Fáil scores with former GAA boss on Laois local election ticket

Laois Fianna Fáil

Former GAA President Liam O’Neill

Fianna Fáil has confirmed its local election ticket in Laois following two conventions on Thursday night.

In Borris in Ossory-Mountmellick Cllr Seamus McDonald, Cllr Paddy Bracken, Declan Goode and former GAA president Liam O’Neill were selected with Sean Mortimer missing out on a seat.

In the Graiguecullen-Portarlington municipal district Cllr Padraig Fleming, Cllr Paschal McEvoy and Deirdre O’Connell-Hopkins were chosen unopposed in this area.

In Portlaoise, the chosen candidates are Cllr Catherine Fitzgerald, Cllr John Joe Fennelly, Donal Kelly and Cllr Pauline Madigan who was added to the Portlaoise ticket by Fianna Fáil headquarters.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.