National Ploughing Championships venue for 2020 revealed

The announcement was made on Sunday evening

Leinster Express Reporter


Leinster Express Reporter

ploughing championships

The Ploughing site in Carlow CREDIT: An Garda Síochána

The National Ploughing Association has confirmed as the host host the 89th National Ploughing Championships in 2020.

The massive event makes a return to the site in Ballintrane, Fenagh in Co Carlow where it was held in 2019.

The announcement was made by the National Ploughing Association at a ceremony in Mount Wolseley, Tullow on Sunday when the winners of this year's Ploughing Championships were also given their silverware. 

The 2019 Ploughing in Carlow had the "highest ever attendance" in the history of the event, according to the NPA. 

Day 3 attendance figures for the 88th Ploughing Championships were 81,000 which brought "the total figure for the three days to 297,000, the highest ever attendance at the event".

Speaking after the announcement the NPA Managing Director Anna May McHugh said she was happy to going back down to Carlow.

“We are delighted to be returning to Ballintrane, Fenagh, Co Carlow, as the picturesque site provided all of the key criteria required to qualify it as a brilliant place to stage the National Ploughing Championships.

"I would also like to take the opportunity to thank the people of Carlow for all of the goodwill and support this year in running the most successful National Ploughing Championships to date with 297,000 visitors and over 1,700 exhibitors.”

Anna May McHugh congratulated all of the winners who were awarded at the ‘Ploughing Prizewinners Awards Banquet’.

"All of the hard work and training throughout the year has truly paid off so you should all truly enjoy your triumphs,” she said.

John Whelan from Wexford was the overall National Reversible Ploughing Competition winner and Eamonn Tracey the Conventional Ploughing winner and they will compete in World Ploughing Contest in Russia next year.