10 Aug 2022

Laois and Offaly set to lose TD at General Election


Vote counting in St Mary's Hall Portlaoise

Laois or Offaly is set to lose a TD at the General Election due to the reunification of the two counties into a five-seat constituency.

This will mean at least one of the six sitting TDs in the two three-seaters will not be returned.

The change has resulted in parts of Tipperary being taken out of Offaly and Kildare from Laois. Portarlington and surrounds will vote in Kildare which gains a seat.

Laois Offaly was last a single constituency in 2011 when FF lost a seat. Outgoing Taoiseach Brian Cowen retired from politics ahead of the election. The counties were split into two three-seaters in 2016.

They were reunified by the Constituency Commission 2016–17 in a joint review of Clare, Limerick, Tipperary, Offaly, Laois, Kildare. It found that while Laois has sufficient population to be a three-seat constituency, Offaly did not. This resulted in Portarlington and surrounds, which sits on the Laois Offaly border, being moved into South Kildare.


The Laois candidates in the race so far are: Charlie Flanagan, TD - FG, Sean Fleming TD - FG,  Brian Stanley TD - SF, Pauline Flanagan FF, Stephen Tynan, People Before Profit.

The Offaly candidates so far are: Cllr John Leahy - Independent, Cllr Peter Ormond - FF, Marcella Corcoran Kennedy TD - FG, Cllr Ken Smollen - Irish Democratic Party, Senator Pippa Hackett - Greens, Barry Cowen TD FF, Carol Nolan TD Ind formerly SF, 

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.