04 Dec 2021

Rugby and weather stars at St Mary's CBS Portlaoise Awards

Connacht rugby star and Met Eireann chief attend St Mary's CBS awards

Rugby and weather stars at St Mary's CBS Portlaoise Awards
By Lynda Kiernan @laoisnews

St Mary's CBS Portlaoise celebrated a great year at their Awards night, helped by special guests rugby player Eoghan Masterson, and Laois native Evelyn Cusack from Met Éireann.

Connacht Rugby player Eoghan who has played for Ireland and Scotland, is a past pupil of CBS.

He recalled his years in Tower Hill and then moving to the new School to do his leaving cert in 2011.

Met Eireann's Head of Forecasting Evelyn Cusack, a native of Clonaslee, was delighted to attend she told the Leinster Express.

“It was a great honour to be asked to attend the Awards night in the CBS Portlaoise and particularly to present some of the Awards. They were a fine group of young gentlemen and I wish them every success in their future lives,” she said.

She reiterated her advice.

“My message to them and to all students is that you are unique and there will never be another person exactly like you. Very few people have a passion in their lives or know exactly what they want to do in their lives. My best advice is to study as hard as possible and try and get a job in an area you like or at least you don't dislike too much.

“Don't beat yourself up if you are not perfect or the most talented or the best looker in the class. You can legitimately blame your parents, you are a product of your genes and environment so its not your fault. Work as hard as you can; be authentic; be nice and kind to yourself and others and try to work in an area you like,” she said.

Among the many awards presented on the night, were Student of the year awards for 1st Year Padraig Delaney, 2nd Year DJ White and 5 th Year Séan Scannell. Best Junior Cert Results 2017 went to Thomás Dunne. Best Leaving Cert Mock Result; Luan Fletcher-Calt.

The top academic award for Student of the Year 2018 was presented to Stradbally Leaving Cert student Conor Donohue, who also won the 6th year engineering award.

In sport, Senior Athlete of the Year is Eoin O’Connor. U19 Soccer Player of the Year: Michael Dowling. Senior basketballer of the Year: Trevor Swayne. Senior Hurler of the Year: Cormac Rigney. Sportsman of the Year: PJ Daly. The Martin Conroy Perpetual Shield: Bill O’Brien. From Each his Best Award: John Byrne

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.