CCFL celebrates another very successful year

THE ballroom of the Bridge House Hotel in Tullamore was full to capacity last Friday night for the Annual CCFL Award Night.

THE ballroom of the Bridge House Hotel in Tullamore was full to capacity last Friday night for the Annual CCFL Award Night.

Clubs from across the midlands gathered to pick up their hard earned medals and cups after another successful season for the league.

CCFL Chairman Jim Kelly welcomed everyone to what he described as a night of celebration and appreciation.

He thanked all the league’s sponsors for their continued support and he asked all the clubs to support the various sponsors.

He also thanked the local media for their continued promotion of the CCFL and he thanked the CCFL Committee and referees for their efforts throughout the year.

FAI President and Athlone native Paddy McCaul was also in attendance and he told the gathering that he was delighted to see how strong junior football as he himself came from grassroots football.

He congratulated all who keep grassroots football thriving and he noted how the success of the Irish team allowed the FAI to furhter develop grass roots football.

LFA Chairman Tony Manning also addressed the awards night and he reminded everyone of the hard work that goes on in the background that keeps the league running.

He congratulated all the winners and he wised the clubs every success in coming seasons. Mr Manning also made a presentation to CCFL Chairman Jim Kelly to mark the hosting of LFA AGM in the midlands.

Proceedings moved on to the presentations of the silverware for the evening with CCFL Secretary Chris Hand acting as MC.

When the trophies for the leagues and cups were handed out, the individual awards were announced.

Special appreciation awards were given to the Athlone and District Football League, the Longford and District Schoolboy League and the Midland Schoolboy and Schoolgirl League in recognition for their work in football.

The CCFL Fair play award was awarded to Clonbonny FC and the CCFL Player Merit Award was picked up by Mullingar Athletic’s midfielder Kevin Keegan

The CCFL Club Merit Award went to Longford Wanderers for their double and being the only team this season not to loose a league fixture.

The Contribution to Football Award was given to the late Billy Hyland (RIP) of Mountmellick Utd FC.

The recipient of the Frank O’Connell Hall of Fame award was Willow Park’s Gerry McHugh for his contribution to football and the CCFL Club of the Year was Mullingar Athletic following on from their historic win in the Counties Cup and for their all round organisation, efficiency and success as a club this season where they won a total of four titles.

See this week’s Offaly Express and Leinster Express for extensive photographic coverage from the CCFL Awards Night