AFC host

The Portlaoise AFC AGM was held at clubhouse on Monday, May 20.

The Portlaoise AFC AGM was held at clubhouse on Monday, May 20.

Chairperson Michael Coleman congratulated Portlaoise A on winning the Premier Sunday title in the Leinster Senior League and Portlaoise B on doing a double winning the Division 3 A title and CCFL Shield

He also thanked the respective Divisonal managers in both leagues for the help with fixtures over the season. He also spoke about the pitch development which will take place in Rossleighan over the summer.

Richard McSweeney gave a detailed review of the schoolboy teams from the season with four MSL League titles won and several teams reaching both MSL and Mid-Leinster finals.

Richard also presented the accounts for the season and stressed the need for more people to support the club Lotto.

A new trustee was elected at the meeting to replace the late Sean Delaney, long serving club member. Noel Scully is the new club trustee.

The Chairperson concluded the meeting by thanking all managers and players from all the teams in the club and special thanks went to Sylvia Gee, Brian Flannery and all the coaches who set up the coaching academy this season.

Officers elected Chairperson: Michael Coleman; Vice Chairperson: Chris Nestor; Schoolboy sec/Treasurer: Richard McSweeney; Committee: Kevin O’Brien Paul Flynn. Players Committee: Darren Rogers, James Furlong, David Hughes and Danny Browne.


Town AGM