Laois trio chosen on Division 1 Team of the League

A trio of Laois Ladies Footballers have been named on the Bord Gáis Energy Ladies Football Division 1 Team of the League.

A trio of Laois Ladies Footballers have been named on the Bord Gáis Energy Ladies Football Division 1 Team of the League.

Aisling Quigley, Gráinne Dunne were chosen at corner-back and full-back respectively while Tracey Lawlor was chosen in midfield.

The proud trio picked up their awards at a ceremony in Croke Park last Tuesday (May 25).

Cork, who secured an impressive fourth league title in a row this year, not surprisingly lead the way with five players selected on the Division 1 Team of the League, including their inspirational captain Amy O’Shea. League finalists Laois are well represented with three players, as are Kildare who managed to build on last year’s promotion from Division 2 with a very solid maiden campaign in the top flight.

 The strength of Ladies Football in Ulster in also well represented with two players selected from Monaghan – the McAnespie twins – and one player each from Tyrone and Donegal in Cathy Donnelly and Geraldine McLaughlin.

In total 26 counties are represented in the 60 players selected across the four divisions and each player was presented with a specially commissioned kit to mark their achievement.

The selection process is led by team managers and referees who were asked to nominate players after each round of league matches. Managers were precluded from voting for their own players.

Speaking at the announcement Pat Quill, President of Ladies Gaelic Football said, “It is a great personal honour for the players to be selected. All counties have talented players and these awards may be the only opportunity that players from counties who do not reach the final stages of competitions get to be recognised.

“I thank the county managers and referees for their diligence in their nominations. These are also coveted awards by the managers in recognition of their team building skills. It has been a wonderful evening of interaction and friendships and I thank Bórd Gáis Energy for their foresight in honouring these talented members of our Association.”

Ger Cunningham, Sports Sponsorship Manager at Bord Gáis Energy, said, “I’d like to firstly congratulate all the players who have been recognised here tonight.  The Teams of the League has become a set piece event in the Ladies Football calendar at this stage and I know the announcement is eagerly awaited once the finals are complete.

“Bord Gáis Energy’s sponsorship of ladies football is an association we are very proud of and we are delighted to be able to support you in developing the game and raising its profile with initiatives like this that recognise the dedication put into the organisation across the country.”

Division 1 Team of the Year: 1 Elaine Harte (Cork) 2 Aisling Quigley (Laois) 3 Gráinne Dunne (Laois) 4 Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan) 5 Briege Corkery (Cork) 6 Bríd Stack (Cork) 7 Aisling Holton (Kildare) 8 Joanne Timmons (Kildare) 9 Tracey Lawlor (Laois) 10 Cathy Donnelly (Tyrone) 11 Valerie Mulcahy (Cork) 12 Amy O’Shea (Cork) 13 Geraldine McLaughlin (Donegal) 14 Noelle Earley (Kildare) 15 Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan)

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.