Knockbeg host 1916 memorial tournament

GAA Knockbeg Blitz

Knockbeg host 1916 memorial tournament

On Wednesday 4th of May, Knockbeg College hosted its first Annual TY/5th year 1916 Commemoration Football Blitz in O’Hanrahan's GFC and Eire Óg. The Cup and Shield are named in honour of two prominent figures in the 1916 Rising.

The Gearóid O'Sullivan Cup – Gearóid hoisted the tricolour flag above the GPO at the beginning of the 1916 Rising. Following his release from Frongoch Prison, for his involvement in the 1916 Rising, he becamean Irish Teacher in Knockbeg College and helped to develop the Irish culture and Gaelic Games during his time here.

The Michael O'Hanrahan Shield – Michael was from Carlow town and became a quartermaster general of the 2nd Batallion in Jacob's Factory. He was executed for his role in the Rising, on the 4th of May 1916. The local O’Hanrahan's GAA club is named in his honour and we wish to commemorate his death by hosting the competition on the anniversary of his unfortunate death.

Knockbeg's 5th year team started with a facile victory over one of Coláiste Eoin's team on a score line of 6-11 to 1-3. This was followed by a much closer affair with Carlow CBS. Johnny Byrne raised a green flag to inspire Knockbeg to victory, 1-5 to 1-2. In the final group game Knockbeg beat Pres Carlow to assure their passage into the Gearóid Ó Sullivan Cup semi-final.

Unfortunately Knockbeg were to lose out to eventual winners St Peter’s, 2-3 to 0-7. Despite dominating possession the concession of goals, windy conditions and a missed penalty were to prove Knockbeg's undoing. St. Peter’s became the first winners of the Gearóid Ó Sullivan Cup, beating Carlow CBS by 0-4 to 0-1, with tiring limbs being a factor following over 100 minutes of excellent Football by all participants.

Panel: Adam Duggan (Palatine), Dean Malone (Graiguecullen), Tommy Bric (Fenagh), Conor Crowley (Palatine), Conor O’Doherty (Palatine), Ciarán Fitzpatrick (Killeshin), Oran Bergin (Grangenolvin), Sam Dunne (Éire Óg), Tom Glynn (St. Lawrence’s), Luke Attride (Killeshin), Mark McDermott (Killeshin), Eoin McGlinchey (Athy), John Byrne (Grange), Adam Feeney (Ballon), Jim Leech (St. Joseph’s)s, Michael Meaney (St. Joseph's).

Knockbeg TY Footballers were drawn in a group with Colaiste Eoin Dublin, Patrician Newbridge, and St Peter's Wexford.

Played in windy conditions in Eire Óg, Knockbeg overcame Colaiste Eoin in the opening encounter, 1-6 to 2-2. Patrician Newbridge beat us by a solitary point in the 2nd round, while a low scoring battle with St Peters ended in a draw. This ensured that Knockbeg qualified for the Shield semi-final.

Colaiste Eoin's second team awaited us in O'Hanrahan's GFC. Our TYs started strongly playing into the wind and never looked back, cruising to a comfortable victory. Colaiste Eoin's 1st team overcame Pres Carlow in the other semi-final to set up a rematch of the 1st group game. Knockbeg played well against the breeze by maintaining possession of the ball and not giving away easy frees. Colaiste Eoin did register some scores however, and led by 0-4 to 0-2 at the interval.

After the restart Knockbeg took the lead through a quick succession of scores. Further pressure on the opposition's kickout resulted in several turnovers, and at this stage the margin was clearly evident between the two teams. Knockbeg secured victory on a score line of 0-10 to 5, and the Michael O'Hanrahan Shield was presented to joint captains Stephen McDonnell and Conor Nolan.

Panel: Darragh Phelan (Barrowhouse), Bernard Wheatley (St. Joseph’s), Cialann Mulhall (Arles-Kilcruise), Kevin Byrne (Ballylinan), Cailim Lafford ( St. Joseph’s), Jamie Lunney (Ballinabranagh), Seamus Lacey (Ballylinan), Niall Brennan (St. Joseph's), Killian Horgan (Annanough), Martin Moloney (St. Laurences), Ronan Curran (Tinryland), Conor Nolan (Castledermot), Stephen McDonnell (St Joseph’s), Daniel O'Sullivan Bowe (Stradbally) Eoin Donlon (Stradbally), Patrick Walsh (Killeshin).

More News

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.