Rathdowney-Errill claim comeback win

Hurling Portlaoise Heritage Hotel U-16 'A' Hurling Final

Rathdowney-Errill claim comeback win
By Andrew Egan @Express_Sport

Both sides deserve praise for a fascinating game of hurling last Friday night, however it was Rathdowney-Errill who took the honours thanks to a brilliant second half comeback.

Castletown-Slieve Bloom got off to a better start, with scores coming through an Aaron Gaughan free and two from the Joe Phelan. Sean Browne pulled one back for Rathdowney-Errill.

A moment of madness followed, as Rathdowney-Errill keeper Jayson Alley nearly had a nightmare, fumbling an easy shot, but the post came to his rescue. Castletown-Slieve Bloom looked much the sharper, with two further scores from Ciaran Conroy and Joe Phelan.

A free from Aaron Costigan was matched at the other end by an Aaron Gaughan free. The sides traded scores through Gaughan (free) and Michael Shortt, before Rathdowney-Errill pulled two back. The first goal of the game went to Castletown Slieve Bloom through Joe Phelan, as he skinned his man and fired home.

Rathdowney-Errill got three scores before half-time to reduce the gap to three, and set it up for an excellent second half.

The second half kicked off at a frantic pace, with the sides trading scores for around ten minutes. Rathdowney-Errill scorers were Darren Bowe and Sean Browne, and Castletown Slieve Bloom’s were Joe Phelan and Gaughan.

Jamie Gill put his side four points to the good, before Rathdowney-Errill got that all important goal through Darren Bowe. A finish into the bottom corner of the net meant that this was just a one point game. Rathdowney-Errill now had all the momentum, and they took full advantage of Castletown-Slieve Bloom’s drop in form.

A few minutes later they got their second goal of the game, this time coming through the impressive Aaron Costigan. A cool and composed finish from the corner forward gave his side a two point lead. Further scores near the end came through Costigan (free) and a point from wing back Adam Loughman.

Castletown now needed goals, but time was against them. A point from midfielder Ben Shore was not going to be enough, as Rathdowney-Errill triumphed to become champions.

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.