Killeshin-Crettyard strike late to get the win

Football Portlaoise Heritage Hotel U-16 'B' Football Final

Killeshin-Crettyard strike late to get the win
By Andrew Egan @Express_Sport

It may have been a scrappy and tense affair for most of the match, but Killeshin-Crettyard will not care, as they overcame a tough Sarsfields side to win the U-16 ‘B’ football championship.

With less than a minute gone, Callum Smith opened the scoring for Sarsfelds. A competitive next ten minutes or so followed, with both sides making a few mistakes, and struggling to keep hold of the ball. Sarsfields, however, added to their score with Allan Connolly pointing.

Killeshin-Crettyard shot right back to level the game, their scores coming at the hands of Conor Mulhall and Colin Dunne. Sarsfields then got the only goal, as Allan Connolly ran at the Killeshin-Crettyard defence, hand passed it to Callum Smith, and he finished well. However, four scores unmatched from Killeshin-Crettyard gave them a one point advantage at half time.

Four minutes into the second half, and midfielder Allan Connolly levelled the game for Sarsfields, with his second point of the game. Sarsfields would end up rueing missed goal chances, as Callum Smith had a golden chance for his second of the game, but his shot went wide and to the left.

A point from Colin Dunne restored Killeshin-Crettyard’s advantage, but this was cancelled out after a William Reilly point from a free. The sides remained level for a period of ten minutes, with both sides not wanting to lose the game. The substitutes rolled in, as both managers/selectors felt their side needed fresh legs to come up with the winning scores.

A fantastic Colin Dunne point, saw him give Killeshin-Crettyard a one point lead heading into the last five minutes. Liam Seery then gave Killeshin-Crettyard a two point cushion, and that was enough to see them home.


Scorers: Colin Dunne 0-4 (0-1 free), Paddy Walsh, Conor Mulhall 0-2 each, Liam Seery 0-1.

Team: Matt Kelly; Evan Galligan, Darragh McDonald; Brian Reilly, Nathan Brennan, Rob Collins; Eoin Fitzpatrick, Ger Kelly; Liam Seery, Conor Mulhall, Colin Dunne; Ross Bolger, Paddy Walsh. Subs: Dean Malone for Brennan (half time), Leeson Hughes for Bolger (41 mins).


Scorers: Callum Smith 1-1, Allan Connolly 0-2, William Reilly 0-1(free).

Team: Rian Coss; Conor White, Paddy Coss; Luke Kerr, Daragh McEvoy, Stephen Hunt; Daniel O’Rourke, Allan Connolly; William Reilly, Peter Carroll, Ben Conroy; Colin McEvoy, Callum Smith. Subs: Noel Stapleton for McEvoy (37 mins), Ronan McCann for McEvoy (35 mins), Cian McCann for Conroy (47 mins).

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.