Borris-Kilcotton exit Leinster Club SHC at the hands of Cuala

Cuala 4-16 Borris-Kilcotton 1-14

The Borris in Ossory Kilcotton "Drive for Five" against The Harps Gaels in the Minor Hurling A final at O'Moore Park was certainly some comeback after being 12 points down at half time.Picture: Alf Harvey/

Borris-Kilcotton lost out to Dublin side Cuala

Borris-Kilcotton saw their dreams of Leinster Club SHC glory come to an abrupt end in Parnell Park on Sunday.
Dublin champions Cuala turned in a scintillating first half display to all but wrap up the win by the midway point. Con O'Callaghan, a late addition to the team, justified his inclusion with a first half hat-trick, as Cuala's pace, power and movement caused Borris-Kilcotton trouble throughout the game.
The Laois champions tried to keep in touch with points from Danny Fitzpatrick, PJ Scully and Neil Foyle, but Cuala were 3-11 to 0-6 up at the break.
Borris-Kilcotton improved after half time, with Scully chipping in with a three more points from placed balls, but O'Callaghan's fourth goal, in the 40th minute, kept Cuala well ahead. Paddy Whelan did manage a late consolation for Borris-Kilcotton with a goal in injury time, but Cuala ran out deserving winners.


Scorers: PJ Scully 0-6 (0-5 frees, 0-1 sideline), Patrick Whelan 1-2, Aaron Dunphy, Danny Fitzpatrick 0-2 each, Neil Foyle, Joseph Campion 0-1 each.
Team: Eoin Fleming; Stephen Finan, Brian Stapleton, Noel Delaney; Colm Stapleton, Matthew Whelan, Jim Fitzpatrick; Patrick Whelan, Danny Fitzpatrick; Daire Quinlan, Joseph Campion, Stephen Dunphy; PJ Scully, Aaron Dunphy, Neil Foyle. Subs: Conor Kilbane for Delaney (23 mins), Stephen Phelan for Quinlan (half time), Bill Meade for Finan (43 mins), Eoin Fitzpatrick for S Dunphy (43 mins).


Scorers: Cian O'Callaghan 4-3, David Treacy 0-6 (0-5 frees), Cian Waldron 0-4, John Sheahan, Colm Cronin, Colum Sheanon 0-1 each.
Team: Sean Brennan; Oisin Gough, Cian O'Callaghan, Simon Timlin; Sean Moran, Paul Schutte, John Sheahan; Jake Malone, Darragh O'Connell; Sean Treacy, Colm Cronin, David Treacy; Mark Schutte, Con O'Callaghan, Cian Waldron. Subs: Shane Stapleton for D Treacy (45 mins), Colum Sheanon for Waldron (49 mins), Ross Tierney for O'Callaghan (54 mins), Brian Fitzgerald for Timlin (54 mins), Naoise Waldron for S Treacy (59 mins).

Referee: Paud O'Dwyer (Carlow)

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.