St Joseph's-Barrowhouse too strong for battling O'Dempsey's

St Joseph's-Barrowhouse 2-16 O'Dempsey's 1-5

St Joseph's-Barrowhouse too strong for battling O'Dempsey's

St Joseph's Barrowhouse are into the Laois U-21 FC Final

St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse cantered to a facile fourteen point victory over O’Dempsey’s in Portarlington on Saturday afternoon to see them march on to a final showdown against Sarsfields.

St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse dominated the game from the outset and duly grabbed the opening score of the game after just two minutes when midfielder, Brian Daly, notched his first free of the day from thirty-five metres.

Mick Keogh followed up for St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse’s second of the day three minutes later when they swarmed the O’Dempsey’s defence to turn over the ball, leaving Keogh to split the posts with his left boot to double their advantage.

O’Dempsey’s introduceed themselves into the game with Johnny Kelly’s well-taken point with ten minutes on the clock, before Daithi Howlin grabbed the rebound from a saved shot on goal to level the proceedings in Portarlington with fourteen minutes played.

St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse picked it up a gear and shot 1-3 without reply directly after. Dylan Doyle, James Kelly and James Smith picked up the points, while Lir McDonald got on the end of Mick Keogh’s pass across the square to notch the first goal of the day.

O’Dempsey’s briefly interrupted the St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse scoring with a Matthew Finally free after twenty-seven minutes, but their was still enough time remaining in the half for St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse to land a further four points before the break through Keogh (2), Doyle and Adam Campion to see them hold a nine point advantage at the interval on a scoreline of 1-9 to 0-3.

Mick Keogh and Matthew Finlay exchanged scores in the opening two minutes of the half, before Adam Campion claimed the score of the game with a peach of an effort from the outside of his boot to extend their lead.

O’Dempsey’s bagged a goal of their own after forty-one minutes when Finlay stepped up to convert from the penalty spot but St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse hit-back almost instantaneously with points from Keogh and Doyle.

O’Dempsey’s claimed their lasts score of the game ten minutes from time through centre-back, Tommy Kehoe, but St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse were far from finished their scoring for the day as they notched a further 1-3 to their account before the final whistle.

Full-back, James Kelly, added increased his tally to three points for the day, while Mick Keogh grabbed the final 1-1 of the game in the dying minutes to further polish the final scoreline as St Joseph’s-Barrowhouse will now prepare for a County final pairing against Sarsfields who edged out Stradbally Parish Gaels by a single point in the other semi-final clash.


Scorers: Mick Keogh 1-6 (0-1 free), Lir McDonald 1-0, Dylan Doyle and James Kelly 0-3 each, Adam Campion 0-2, Brian Daly (free) and James Smith 0-1 each.
Team: Aaron Cooney; Andrew Baldwin, James Kelly, Cian Maher; Lir McDonald, Aidan Brennan, Noel Leech; Brian Daly, Adam Campion; Danny Hickey, Dylan Doyle, James Baldwin; Mick Keogh, James Smith, Ciaran Ramsbottom. SUBS: Conor Kealy for Daly (32 mins, inj); Steven McDonald for Ramsbottom (36 mins); James Fitzgerald for Doyle (50 mins); Mikey Meaney for Smith (53 mins); Dylan O’Brien for Leech (57 mins); Mikey Dempsey for Hickey (58 mins).


Scorers: Matthew Finlay 1-2 (1-0 Pen, 0-2 frees), Johnny Kelly, Daithi Howlin and Tommy Kehoe 0-1 each.
Team: Shane Hogan; Christopher Slevin, Liam Whelehan, Cormac O’Hora; Chris McCormack, Tommy Kehoe, Ben Molloy; Shane Nerney, Pat Maher; Johnny Kelly, Matthew Finlay, Darren Fitzpatrick; Daithi Howlin, Glenn Mitchell, Oisin Maher. SUBS: Darragh Bannon for Whelehan (16 mins, inj); Andrew Egan for Bannon (half time); Aaron Fitzpatrick for Oisin Maher (55 mins).

Referee: Brendan McCann (Portarlington)

To continue reading this article, please register and log in.

Registration is free and you can also sign up to our newsletter to keep up to date with your latest local news!


Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.