Laois Minor Ladies lose out to Westmeath

Greg Mulhall


Greg Mulhall


Laois Minor Ladies lose out to Westmeath

The Laois Ladies Minor team that lost to Westmeath today in Timahoe. PHOTO: Laois LGFA Facebook


Leinster Ladies Minor ‘B’ Championship Round 3


Laois 3-12

Westmeath 5-10


The Laois Minor ladies fell to Westmeath in Round 3 of the Leinster ‘B’ Championship today with a four point defeat in Timahoe.

They lost their opening round clash to Longford before going on to secure a nine-point win in a nine-goal thriller against Wexford last month. While they lost today, they are still likely to go through to semi-final stage but await the result of tomorrow’s Longford v Wexford game at 2pm - with the decision coming down to either head-to-head or score difference.

Tom McKittrick’s side trailed by seven points on a scoreline of 2-7 to 1-3 at the interval with Portlaoise’s Leah Loughman accounting for Laois’ 1-3 tally in a difficult opening half against the wind. Westmeath’s Grace Halligan goaled less than a minute in, and Jessica Hennessy followed suit within the opening quarter of an hour.

St Conleth’s Sarah Walsh aided the Laois cause with 1-1 and Caoimhe Fitzpatrick dispatched a penalty in the closing half as Laois looked to stage a revival, but Westmeath substitute Ruth Martin grabbed a goal while Halligan would finish with 3-3 for the day as Westmeath ran out victors.

All eyes will now turn to tomorrow’s clash of Longford and Wexford as Laois await the result.



SCORERS: Leah Loughman 1-5, Sarah Walsh 1-2, Caoimhe Fitzpatrick 1-0, Jade Nolan 0-3, Julia Cahill and Danielle Forbes 0-1 each.

TEAM: Niamh Phelan (St. Brigids); Lisa Walsh (St. Brigids), Sarah McMahon (Ballyroan), Sara Kerfah (Graiguecullen); Danielle Forbes (Graiguecullen), Niamh Crowley (St. Pauls), Julie Cahill (Portlaoise); Jade Nolan (Graiguecullen), Rebecca Balfe (St. Pauls); Leah Kelly (Ballyroan), Caoimhe Fitzpatrick (Graiguecullen), Emer Brennan (St. Brigids); Jenny Murphy (Timahoe), Sarah Walsh (St. Conleths), Leah Loughman (Portlaoise) Subs: Aine Lacey (St Brigids) for E Brennan, Amy Fitzpatrick (Ballyroan) for Kerfah, Ciara McDonald (Killeshin) for Cahill.


TEAM: Sinead Byrne; Aoife Kenny, Emma Kelly, Clodagh Dillon; Abbie Sheerin, Vicky Carr, Niamh Mullarkey; Sinead Murtagh, Susan Glennon; Amelia Shaw, Jessica Hennessey, Roisin Killian; Sinead Robbins, Grace Halligan, Jasmine Maloney.

REFEREE: Ciaran Groome (Offaly)