Portlaoise maintain 100% start with victory over Portarlington

Andrew Egan


Andrew Egan



Portlaoise maintain 100% start with victory over Portarlington


Laois Shopping Centre ACFL Division 1A


Portlaoise 1 - 9

Portarlington 1 - 4



Portlaoise continued their excellent start to Division 1A, as they managed to overcome a spirited Portarlington side in tough conditions in Rathleague.


Portarlington missed two penalties from Ronan Coffey and Colm Murphy in the first half that would prove costly.


Portlaoise's Benny Carroll and Portarlington's Steven O'Neill grabbed a goal apiece, as Portlaoise led 1-6 to 1-2.


Scores proved hard to come by in the second half due to the swirling wind, but Portlaoise managed to come out on top by five points in the end thanks to Benny Carroll, David Holland and Jason Maher points.



Scorers: Benny Carroll 1-2, Ronan McEvoy 0-2, Paul Cahillane (free), Ricky Maher, Conor Boyle, David Holland and Jason Maher 0-1 each.

TEAM: Michael Nolan; Michael Dowling, David Seale, Brian 'Beano' McCormack; Paddy Downey, Kieran Lillis, David Holland; Graham Brody, Conor Boyle; Ronan McEvoy, Damon Larkin, Benny Carroll; Jason Maher, Paul Cahillane, Ricky Maher.


Scorers: Steven O'Neill 1-0, Colm Murphy 0-3 (0-2 frees), Jake Foster 0-1.

TEAM: Scott Osbourne; Dean Foster, Cathal Ryan, Alex Mohan; Cathal Bennett,  Jason Moore, Graham Weldon; Keith Bracken, Paddy O'Sullivan; Steven O'Neill, Colm Murphy, Jonathan Fulham; Adam Ryan; Ronan Coffey, Daragh Galvin. Sub: Jake Foster for Ryan (10 mins, inj)

REFEREE: Vincent Dowling (O'Dempsey's)