Portarlington claim Feile 'A' football title

Greg Mulhall


Greg Mulhall



Portarlington  claim Feile 'A' football title

The victorious Portarlington team that will be heading to Galway/Mayo for the Feile finals this summer.

Midland Park Hotel Feile 'A' Football Final


Portarlington 3 - 5

Portlaoise 2 - 0


Portarlington claimed their first ever Feile title with an eight point win over Portlaoise in the LOETB Centre of Excellence on Sunday afternoon.

The eventual winners trailed by four-points at the interval with Portlaoise firing two-goals through Conor Ragget and Josh Finn in the opening half, while Portarlington kept in touch with two-pointed free from captain Corey Geoghegan.

Portarlington booked their place in the final with a comfortable ten-point win over Ballylinan while Portlaoise narrowly got the better of Stradbally Parish Gaels with a one-point win on a low-scoring encounter that ended 1-2 to 1-1.

An early goal from Conor Ragget paved the way for Portlaoise, and Josh Finn followed suit shortly after as Portlaoise looked to pull away but a brace of pointed frees from Corey Geoghegan to close the gap to four points - and that was margin as the half-time whistle sounded.

Portlaoise were held scoreless in the second-half as Port fired three goals through Kian Barry, Luke McEvoy and finally Geoghegan as well as points from McEvoy, Daniel Stanfanov and Conor Weldon to lift the cup.



Scorers: Corey Geoghegan 1-2 (0-2 frees), Luke McEvoy 1-1 (0-1 free), Kian Barry 1-0, Daniel Stanfanov and Conor Weldon 0-1 each.

Team: Patrick Bennett; Jack Murphy, Ben McEvoy, Kian Barry; Fionn Ryan, Sean Michael Bracken, Hugo Emerson; Conor Weldon, Corey Geoghegan; Sean Bennett, Jordan Downey, Daniel Stanfanov; Eoin McEvoy, Luke McEvoy, Kaylen Flood.


Scorers: Conor Ragget and Josh Finn 1-0 each.

Team: Cian O’Gorman; Paddy Reddin, Eoin Murphy, Rory Tully; Davin Dunne, Conor Ging, Eoin Brosnan; Conor Ragget, David Harrington; Cillian Lovegrove, Sean Devitt, Kacper Banasik; Cian Cleary, Josh Finn, Cillian O’Connell. Subs: Tadhg Dwyer

REFEREE: John Murphy (Crettyard)