04 Jul 2022

New chair for Laois Down Syndrome

Laois Down Syndrome recently made a We recently made a cheque presentation of �2500.00, raised through our yearly bucket collection in Portlaoise, to the Arch Club Portlaoise.  This was in recognition of their proven track record over the last twenty years, in giving great nights out to our young adults by running monthly discos and taking them on yearly weekends away.  It is one of the highlights of their social lives.  We would also like to thank those members of the Arch Club who helped out on the day with the collection.(Alex Cathcart, Dermot Heffernan ARCH), Michael Dowling, Leah Murray, David Murray, Michael Gorman (chairman LDS), Antionette Dowling (Vice secretary LDS), Eoin Gorman, Conor Glynn (Vice chairman LDS), Patricia Mulhall (Treasurer LDS), (Mary Tynan, Catherine Langan, ARCH) Laura Glynn, (Ann Hyland, and Bernie Tynan ARCH).
“I would like to thank all those who helped and supported me over the last four years to carry out my role as chairman of Laois Down Syndrome.”

“I would like to thank all those who helped and supported me over the last four years to carry out my role as chairman of Laois Down Syndrome.”

Mick Gorman spoke “from the heart” as he stepped down from his role as chairperson at the Laois Down Syndrome AGM on Wednesday February 19 in Gort na nOir, Abbeyleix.

Conor Glynn was elected to fill the shoes of Mr Gorman as chairperson, alongside a new committee for 2014.

Mr Gorman expressed his confidence in the newly elected chairperson.

“It has been a privilege to serve as chair and help to make our branch one of the best in the country, given our size.

“Our new chairman is without a doubt the man to take us from here, onwards and upwards,” he said in his speech.

Mr Gorman’s vision for Laois Down Syndrome has always been one of great hope, achievement and determination to give children with Down Syndrome all they deserve to achieve a healthy, happy life. His philosophy “from cradle to grave” will be continued by Laois Down Syndrome.

Laois Down Syndrome thanked Mr Gorman for the amazing amount of time, hard work and dedication he put into into making association what it is today, and they were delighted to announce that he will remain on board as a committee member for 2014.

The new officers elected for 2014 are: Chairperson Conor Glynn, Vice Chairperson Michael Greene, Secretary Antoinette Dowling, Vice Secretary Margaret Miron, Treasurer Colm Purcell, Vice treasurer Anne Creagh, PRO Lynda Donoghue. The committee members are Michael Gorman, Una Byrne, Patricia Mulhall, Geraldine Flanagan and Paula McEvoy.

To continue reading this article for FREE,
please kindly register and/or log in.

Registration is absolutely 100% FREE and will help us personalise your experience on our sites. You can also sign up to our carefully curated newsletter(s) to keep up to date with your latest local news!

Register / Login

Buy the e-paper of the Donegal Democrat, Donegal People's Press, Donegal Post and Inish Times here for instant access to Donegal's premier news titles.

Keep up with the latest news from Donegal with our daily newsletter featuring the most important stories of the day delivered to your inbox every evening at 5pm.