late Teresa SHEA

Condolences to the family of the late Teresa Shea Newtown, Crettyard who died on January 12. Deeply regretted by her loving children Richard, Marty, Seamus, John, Michael, Terri, Helen, Paul, Sue and Patrick, extended family and friends. Reposed at home. Removal to St Abban's Church, Doonane for Requiem Mass. Burial afterwards in the adjoining cemetery. Donations, if desired, to Cancer Research.


Top score at Newtown whist on Saturday last was won by Owen Salmon, Rosey. Ladies: 1. Maureen Coady. 2. Margaret Kealy/P Kavanagh. Gents: 1. Tom Kealy. 2. M. Wheatley. Halves: 1. Hannah Moore. 2. Michael Kelly. Quarters: 1. Bart Murphy. 2. Ena Wallace. Raffle winners were Eamon Wheatley, Christy Maher, Gerry Kealy, Kay Chase & Bart Murphy.


Mayo Doonane Credit Union AGM takes place on Monday January 25 in the School, Newtown, Crettyard at 8pm. All members welcome.


The chairman Eamon Kelly opened the AGM with a glowing tribute to Barry Pender and all the athletes who contributed so much to the club over the past year. Barry’s new height for club and county record of 2.26 on the previous day, gave all present and the broader membership and area a major lift and showed what can be done with believe and commitment. The secretary’s report covered most of the happenings in the club during the year while the treasurer’s report showed the bank balance was in good shape. She thanked the many sponsors and supporters for helping the club. The registrar’s report showed membership of 286. The highlights of the year included the 60th anniversary celebrations, the men’s team finishing third in the premier division of the national league, the many championship successes from club to county to regional to senior and to international level. Also the running of so any events such as table quiz, student games (just 1 point separated Killeshin and Mayo/Newtown and Ardough), Stephen Lawlor National novice cross country champion, club medal winners in national senior both indoors and outdoors (Barry Pender indoor champion in both), Paul Byrne achieving the ‘B’ standard for the 400 hurdles (moved to 4th place overall on the all time Irish list) for to qualify for the Europeans in Amsterdam), Fit4Life league etc. The following were elected for the coming year: president Fr Murphy PP. Vice presidents Fr Jimmy O’Reilly, Fr Eamon Purcell, Rev Peter Tarleton, John O’Sullivan, Eddie Baldwin, Mildred Neale, Willie Wallace, George Nolan, John Brophy, Gillie Walsh/Kemmis, Anthony Pender, Noeleen Condron, John Burke and John Behan. Trustees Brendan Reilly, Paddy Brennan and Bernard Graham. Chairman Eamon Kelly, Vice do Bernard Graham, Secretary James Nolan, asst. sec Patsy Baldwin. Treasurer Breda Daly. Registrar Michael Daly. PROs Liam Kelly, Dick Mullins and Patrick Kelly. Website Mary Whelan and Liam Kelly. Child officer’s Breda Daly, Gillian Buggy, Liam & Michael Kelly. Club captains Mairead Moore, Emma Daly & Saragh Buggy, Colm Burke, Stephen Lawlor & Brian Kelly. Fit4life Jimmy Walsh, Bernard Graham and Mark Murray. Committee Jimmy Whelan, Pat Whelan, James Kilbride, Kevin Murphy, Joe Brennan, Mark Murray, Rev Peter Tarleton, Deirdre Brennan, Colin Byrne, Ciaran Kelly, Liz Burke, Seamus Lawlor and John Fenlon. All wished the very best for the coming year and keep driving things forward.