Laois village wants ideas after big grant boost

Conor Ganly


Conor Ganly


grant camross laois

Poet's Cottage Camross

A Camross development committee is calling out to local people to come forward with ideas on how they would like to see the the village and its hinterland flourish.

The Camross Parish Development Association Committee was set up in December 2016. One of the aims of this committee is to help develop the facilities and amenities of our Parish.

The committee have met on numerous occasions to discuss potential ideas and to put in place applications for funding. They recently were delighted to secure the following grants: €14,944.50 from the Rural Development LEADER Programme re ‘Completing a Village Plan’ and €69,103.16 from the ‘Towns & Renewal Scheme re a village walkway’. 

The committee is also hoping to secure further funding in the future to help continue this project. However, now that foundation money is available, the committee want the community to get involved so that work can begin.

"We are now looking for your help! Firstly, we would like to invite you to forward any ideas and suggestions you may have and would like to see included in this project.

"Any works will initially and primarily be based around Camross vllage but other areas in the parish may be included in our Development Plan, thus all ideas (big & small) are encouraged and welcomed. Not all ideas will prove feasible but all will be considered and discussed.

"Secondly, we would appeal with you to support any upcoming fundraisers that this committee may run. While the above grants are very generous we will need to raise our own funds to help get the projects up and to be able to draw down these grants," said a statement.

The committee wants people to forward suggestions in writing to the Poet’s cottage, or to any committee member (see committee below) by December 31 this year.

Camross Parish Development Association Committee:

Aidan Hynes (Chairperson), Pakie Cuddy (Vice Chairperson), Tadhg Doran (Secretary), Bryan McNamara (Assistant Secretary), Joe Conroy (Treasurer), Kevin Conroy (Assistant Treasurer), Peter Dooley (PRO), Peter Guilfoyle, Tommy Guilfoyle, Marie Buckley, Johanna McDonald Steenkist, Marguerite Walsh, John Conroy, Ray Cuddy, Paul Nolan & Fr. Lalor.